Poets logo

The Closure I Will Never Hold

A Poem

By Katerina PetrouPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
The Closure I Will Never Hold
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

What is it that you want?

I am not so sure anymore.

Why is it you cannot forget about me?

Because you opened, but did not close, that door.

Would you like for me to close it? Entirely and completely.

I cannot speak properly while these tears lay upon my cheek.

If I kiss them away, could you tell me what you mean?

I am afraid that will only bury this pain that bit further deep.

Why does it hurt you so when I am kind to you?

For your kindness is laced with evil intention.

You must know, nothing good is ever pure.

Oh, I do not want to love you anymore.

Once you love somebody, you always will. Though you can mask it as hate.

Then, I hate you. I hate you! I hate you! I hate you!

Why are you still crying?

Because these words are not true. How I wish they were.

Perhaps I could love you. If I did not already love her.

You do not know what love is.

And you believe that you do?

I knew from the moment you took my hand in yours.

I think I knew it, too.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Katerina Petrou

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katerina PetrouWritten by Katerina Petrou

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.