Poets logo

Lacklustre Life

Breathe the Present

By Ward NorcuttPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
5
Lacklustre Life
Photo by Alexis Baydoun on Unsplash

(as always, written without AI or thesaurus - just doing my best with

the words I have...)

*

After I wake up in the morning,

before I have my second

cup of coffee,

do I (yet again)

enter into that

futile dialogue that

gets in my way. Do I say to myself,

“Here we go again. I guess

I’ll

just

keep on keeping on, trudging my way through this

lacklustre life.”?

*

May be there’s another way. Maybe. Perhaps I

need

only to close my eyes and see that there is no

problem. Perhaps I might slow my worry-mind and

quietly

realize that the incessant

sound of my

tumult

underpins and undermines my

very existence

with its insistence on the harms of the past and threats of the future. An

x-ray would probably not isolate nor identify this disease.

Yet, I know it’s there. Insidious. So I vow, with daily

zeal, to breathe my own true story of the present.

Acrosticsocial commentaryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalhow toGratitude
5

About the Creator

Ward Norcutt

Playwright and poet.

My goal as a writer is to write thoughtful pieces of prose, poetry and stage plays. Hopefully, the end results are entertaining and engaging, with layers of meaning that make sense to the whole or a theme therein.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley about a month ago

    Very powerful! I really liked this. Well done, Ward!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler3 months ago

    Oh, Ward, this is beautiful! And you definitely have plenty of words inside to show us many existential feelings. Bravo!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Okay, you got me. Very impressive narrative and conclusion.

  • Dana Crandell3 months ago

    Well done, Ward! I refuse to use AI in my writing, but I'm not ashamed to admit that I'll resort to the thesaurus occasionally, to make sure I'm saying what I think I am.

  • Kale Ross3 months ago

    Brilliant words.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.