Poets logo

YOU NEVER SAID GOODBYE.

A thousand words won't bring you back, I know because I have tried.

By Catherine NyomendaPublished 10 days ago 1 min read
5
YOU NEVER SAID GOODBYE.
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

I've learned the art of being normal when your name comes up.

The last time we met, you could not keep your smile hidden,

while I was normal as if nothing ever went wrong between us.

If I were a coward, I would never face you.

If I were brave, I would tell you that it hurts when you're not here.

But....

I am an ocean,

I flow.

So I smiled back.

Last time when we talked you said,

"Forgive me, It was never easy for me"

I ask you to take away all your moments with me.

You tell me that you're not a thief.

When you left,

I wrote a short story about my passion for cricket.

You never liked cricket so I wanted to hurt you

Slowly, I came to know it only hurts us.

You always asked me,

"How do people write, Ragarn?"

That's how my love,

I read somewhere that Grief is love with no place to go and I wonder if all my sad letters are nothing but love letters to you.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Catherine Nyomenda

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Unbreakable Heart7 days ago

    Very well described dear :) Every word we write from the heart is like a reflection of our soul.

  • Grief is love with no place to go. That was so deep and poignant. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Rachel Deeming10 days ago

    Catherine, this is just such a great expression of coming to terms with having someone no longer in your life. It is mournful.

  • Beautiful! Fantastic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.