Poets logo

L'Exquisite Douleur

Poem

By Jazzy Published 21 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
29
L'Exquisite Douleur
Photo by Aarón Blanco Tejedor on Unsplash

Eager madness wrestling me into submission

Claiming my allegiance, refusing my independence

Lying sideways on my vessels to cut off my breathing

I can’t help but grasp onto the handle to find that snakes are twirling up my arms

Perhaps I wasn’t made for this planet but instead for one further away

Sentient beings, calling for me, a being as an ocean

Exquisite pain, I evolve past the need to breathe, and I am one with the universe once more

For Fun
29

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor11 days ago

    Intense, and feels like a heavy portrayal of mental illness. “snakes are twirling up my arms” reminds me of constraints too. Nice Jazzy 👏

  • ROCK 15 days ago

    An amazing hunk of prose!

  • Anna 16 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Andrea Corwin 17 days ago

    Congrats on TS and the painting is perfect for this piece!

  • Chloe Gilholy18 days ago

    Outstanding! Really connected with it.

  • Me too!

  • Gina C.18 days ago

    Oh, this has a darkness to it that is spekcled with light, I feel. Love it. Powerfully done ❤️

  • Kenny Penn18 days ago

    Outstanding, Jazzy. I loved it. After the last line I read it twice more, it feels like a poem about accepting change up to even death. And that song! I’ve never heard it before today but it’s really good

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • angela hepworth18 days ago

    Eerie, horrific and insane - it was great!!

  • Cathy holmes18 days ago

    Beautiful work. Like a touch of insanity.. Congrats on the TS

  • The main picture looks an abstract painting of O ba ma.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)18 days ago

    Oooo! This felt deliciously dark as I read it in my head... beautiful work Jazzy! Great work!!

  • Paul Stewart19 days ago

    Back to say Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Poppy 20 days ago

    So well crafted. Excited to see you in my notifications! Hope you’re doing well💛

  • Gosh that was so poignant and intense! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Tiffany Gordon 20 days ago

    Outstanding work!!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 20 days ago

    Everything all right?

  • Sid Aaron Hirji20 days ago

    nice entry-feeling the madness of the eclipse

  • Paul Stewart21 days ago

    This was lots of fun...bit mad...but love it for that! Nice to read something new by you, Jazzy!

  • Dana Crandell21 days ago

    Well, that was a definite trip!

  • Babs Iverson21 days ago

    Awesome!!! Definitely a fun read!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.