Poets logo

Vulnerability is

a poem

By Jazzy Published 2 months ago 1 min read
13
Vulnerability is
Photo by Deon Black on Unsplash

When I eat a peach,

That I nibble into

as the juice

Runs down my fingers and chin

A memory replays

You wipe the liquid,

From my face,

A motion so smooth

I almost forgot the nectar

Was plunging to the ground.

I take another bite,

Juice is flowing from your hand, too

Drops, pooling on the ground

And you laughed.

As the peach starts to grow smaller

We stand there

Sticky and sweet

the sun warming our skin

You ask me, is this how it is?

You’d never had a peach,

So you kiss me softly

The taste of you and the peach

Drying on my lips

All that’s left is the pit, and

Some small taste of you

When I eat a peach

I think of you.

Author's note: Thank you for reading, this came to me as I was trying to sleep and contemplating the book "Daring Greatly" by Brene Brown.

First Draft
13

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • TheSpinstress18 days ago

    This is so beautiful, and sweet! I can taste the peach.

  • Oooo, very sensual. I've not read that book though. Beautiful poem!

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    I enjoy that book! Cool that it brought this poem into being.

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    I like this a lot! It is real and relatable to anyone who has eaten a very ripe peach straight off the tree.

  • Donna Renee2 months ago

    This is so evocative!

  • Heather Hubler2 months ago

    I loved the simplicity of this! And I felt so in the moment with these beautiful lines, 'We stand there Sticky and sweet the sun warming our skin'

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Beautifully expressed & loved it!!!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Very sensual! I used to love peaches in the southern USA, in Sweden they are horrible. I love their furry skin also. Really enticing poem!

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    Oh my goodness Jazzy I love this poem so much! It’s beautiful, sensual, and really sparks the imagination. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.