Poets logo

Solipsism

Society is but a fragile foundation of my own making

By Jazzy Published 3 months ago 1 min read
12
Solipsism
Photo by Max Böhme on Unsplash

How can I know I'm not the only one?

Aware and yet completely alone.

You say you love me,

are you just a mirror?

Mirror in the sky,

What is love?

🌫

I think of the pain in the world,

Wondering why I would dream it up?

A nightmare

Hell on Earth

Why would I think this much?

🌫

Am I you, and you me?

I think, therefore, I am.

Yet, is everything I think

All my own making.

A world in which I have the power.

🌫

If the power is mine, and mine alone.

Perhaps I can make the choice

To bear witness to the things I want

Changed.

Maybe that would be enough.

My story is but my own.

And if it ends too soon,

Only I will know.

Nothing is true.

For Fun
12

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Matthew Mccahey3 months ago

    Love this one Jazzy!

  • Hope Martin3 months ago

    I feel you in every poem you write. You are so good. I love this. Good Job lovely!

  • Kenny Penn3 months ago

    I loved this poem, Jazzy. It felt very much like a poetic reflection to me. The last line reminded me of a video game I love, where the character says, “Nothing is True, Everything is Permitted.”

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Great conclusion here.

  • This reminded me of the saying, "Be the change you want to see in this world". Loved your poem!

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    We all create our own universe. Well done.

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This made my head implode but in a good way 😁

  • Mohammed Darasi3 months ago

    We can never share our experience of existence with anyone... So we really might just be imagining all of this 🤔. Great poem jazzy 👏🏽👏🏽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.