Poets logo

Kiss me, Kill me

it feels the same

By Heather HublerPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Top Story - April 2023
83
Created with CanvaPro

hey self-esteem, my perpetual albatross,

(i'd say dear but we both know that isn't true)

-

when do you think i will be enough?

is there some kind of timeline or perhaps

a treatment plan you'd like to share?

because i feel as though you don't want me to succeed.

i try and try, yet nothing changes between us.

you tell me 'soon' and 'just a little longer, you have more growing to do' all the while donning me with trinkets, dressing up the lamb for slaughter.

-

it's time to let me go.

(i'm getting a little too comfortable

with the pain and the shame.)

-

the weight of all your tiny chains hang heavy,

little hooks clasped onto my skin, holding fast and

making me bleed,

that damn bird draped 'round my shoulders,

a constant reminder.

but you're so clever.

they're covered up with smoke and mirrors,

lies and smiles, looking like the finest jewelry.

i'm a gilded prisoner on display,

and no one knows.

(things are never quite what they seem

with you, are they?)

-

i'm curious though,

do you treat everyone this way?

with soft whispers and a dull knife

to the back.

i've no idea.

i think you must.

or maybe you save it all,

the slow seduction and misery only for me.

kiss me, kill me.

what will it be?

-

your constant pressure drags me down,

and those chains they rattle,

yet i'm an impossible contradiction.

it feels as if i'm floating,

aimlessly drifting,

coasting through life

trying not to look too hard at what i see in the mirror.

hear the words left unsaid.

feel the keen presence of a hole in my heart

where the shape of another used to fit.

so many holes.

(all my fault, you say. i'm not ready.)

-

there are some days though,

when you hold up the chains,

and carry my burden.

my spine straightens and my eyes clear

enough that i can see the vision–

what it would be like

to live in a world filled with self-confidence and worth.

where i think maybe i'm deserving of

someone's effort and energy,

maybe even friendship and love.

-

oh but what a fool i am.

each. and. every. time.

you really are quite cruel.

-

deep down,

i know what you're doing.

how those glimpses are little teases,

the sweet taste of acceptance and euphoria on my tongue

meant to string me along,

keep me addicted to you.

keep me from resisting what we both know is

the inevitable truth–

i'll be back at the bottom again in no time,

hugging those chains holding me in place,

unable to surface,

and glad for it.

-

forever yours,

gilded girl

sad poetryheartbreak
83

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (45)

Sign in to comment
  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    I think pretty much every reader will relate to this piece. It would make a great song!

  • The Dani Writerabout a year ago

    You've named the beast that lurks. Uncloaked the monster within. Such a relatable topic for countless among us in silence with our demons. Congratulations for the Top Story but more for touching many souls!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I hope you know someone that can write the music to accompany this ballad- it sings out the pain. Amazing

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    The pain, the anguish “and those chains they rattle, yet i'm an impossible contradiction.” What a battle! The depth of your writing astounds me. Congrats ! 🥰

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    No idea if this poem was personal to you or not. What I DO know is this.. YOU KICK ASS Top Story Superhero!! 👊

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    Much said here my friend, with lots of self esteem, tres bon😀

  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    fantastic poem

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    "my spine straightens and my eyes clear enough that i can see the vision– what it would be like to live in a world filled with self-confidence and worth." Soo relatable and brought tears to my eyes. 🥺❤️ This is beautifully written and speaks to me at the deepest part. You are so talented with words, my friend! Amazing job and congrats on a spectacular Top Story! 😍😍❤️

  • Lucy Wasilwaabout a year ago

    Great piece

  • where i think maybe i'm deserving of someone's effort and energy, maybe even friendship and love. oh but what a fool i am. each. and. every. time. I started sobbing when I reached this part. It hit me so hard. I'm going through a rough time now. Thank you for this poem my fear friend. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Vivian R McInernyabout a year ago

    THIS: the weight of all your tiny chains hang heavy, little hooks clasped onto my skin, holding fast and making me bleed,

  • Farhan Mirza about a year ago

    well done

  • Brin J.about a year ago

    There you go again, forming words that steal my breath away. My favorite line: "what it would be like to live in a world filled with self-confidence and worth." ❤️‍🩹 I think the fact you highlight this struggle so flawlessly makes this not only relatable but beautiful. You certainly have a gift with poetry, and I'm always looking forward to whatever you publish next <3.

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Oh this is heartbreaking and cruel. Please know that whatever negative thing you think you are, you are really the opposite. Sending love ❤

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Phenomenal writing! You've got it going on. Don't listen 2 the lies...

  • I love it! Well done 😁

  • Congratulations 🎉 💖😉

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    This is a phenomenal piece, on just how addictive love is. The way you ended it with 'gilded girl' is brilliant. Congratulations on Top Story! (p.s. I don't know how I missed this one)

  • Lindsey Altomabout a year ago

    Very relatable for me. truly one of my favorite poems I've read on here so far!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story , great words

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Heather, this was so well done. I certainly related! I don’t know you in person, but through your words I know you- you add such a magnificent spark of light to this world. Thank you so much for writing this. As always, you wrote it perfectly and beautifully. Congrats on top story!!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Exceptional words spoken here!❤️ I am in awe of your writing. Congratulations on your top story too!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Congrats on Top Story for this one!! I absolutely relate to this, as I do with so much of what you write and share with us ❤❤

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.