Poets logo

Rest

A Christian Teacher's Exhausted Mind

By CaryPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
3
Rest
Photo by Masaaki Komori on Unsplash

I'm feeling rather tired,

I'm running out of steam.

My body started giving up, and now I barely sleep

I'm told I'm bad at teaching,

That everything is wrong.

That I'm not giving quite enough when I am at my job.

And now I'm overwhelmed, Lord.

I don't know what to say.

I thought that I could serve You here, but I don't want to stay.

The effort that I'm giving

Seems never quite enough.

I'm running myself ragged helping others with their stuff.

The peace that I'm not finding

Can only come from you.

But how can I ask for Your help with everything You do?

I feel so selfish asking,

But Lord, I need some rest.

I need some help to organize my heart to do my best.

I don't know where to start, God,

So I'll leave it up to You.

Whatever You direct is what I happily will do.

If sleepless nights are what is next

I'll trust you day by day.

You've proven You are mighty, and You'll guide along the way.

I'm trusting in Your plan Lord

'Cause my plan isn't best.

I'm learning, Lord, that in Your plan alone, can I find rest.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Cary

Just a girl who dreams about writing a book, but only has time for a short story. :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Binkley14 days ago

    Yes! This is so relatable, and I said the same prayer. I'm glad we can ask the Lord to guide us when we are unsure of what to do.

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Cary, I so understand this feeling. I hope you get the rest you so need. Take care.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.