Poets logo

It’s Time To Say Goodbye

The hardest word to say

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 1 min read
9
Image courtesy of the Author

My heart is shattered and so totally confused,

The end has been staring me in the face,

I’ve fought it, denied it and lived in hope,

But it’s obvious you hold us in disgrace.

***

I may have given birth to you many decades ago,

And I’ve tried to ride the roller coaster of your personality,

Giving you the benefit of the doubt, attempting to gain a forestay,

But it’s time, time to face our reality.

***

It’s always been an emotionally draining pathway,

Coping with your volatility, your winding endeavour,

But I was determined to stand by your side,

Always and forever.

***

Until now!

Sadly, it’s time to say goodbye,

The pain is unliveable,

And the rules no longer apply.

***

I wish all your dreams see fruition,

And hope that you’ll live long and happy years,

You’ll raise your own offspring,

And learn what it’s like to wipe their tears.

***

I pray that they don’t treat you in such a manner,

As you feel the need to treat me these days,

That you’ll not be left an emotional wreck,

And they find the time for you always.

***

I’ll now do what is best for the both of us,

And with these words I’ll cry my goodbye,

I’ll quietly bow out of your life,

And bury you within my heart until the day I die.

***

Stay safe,

Take care,

Be happy,

Don’t despair.

***

The hardest word I’ve ever had to say to you,

‘Goodbye’ my son……’goodbye’,

I’ll always hold our memories close,

Now my job is done, you’re free to fly.

***

Goodbye!

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

sad poetryheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    I felt a stab in my heart when I saw your cover pic. I know how he looks like because you've posted in FB. As I started reading your poem, I was crying and it kept increasing all the way until the end. When I finished, I know my tears are nothing compared to the ones you shed. Please know you're always welcome to message me if you ever need someone to listen or talk to. Sending you loads of hugs my friend 🥺❤️

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Tearing up!!! Heatbreaking & bittersweet!!! Sending love & hugs💕❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Oh goodness. This is heartbreaking. Hugs, my friend.

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    Sending prayers up & hugs your way...

  • I'm so sorry, Colleen. My prayers are with you.

  • Denise Larkin11 months ago

    This brings back memories for me back when I let my own child go on his way. It was beautifully expressed with feeling. Loved reading it.

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    It’s always hard to let a child go and discover the world for themselves so they can grow. Very relatable poem . I feel you dear friend ❤️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    This is such a lovely way to set your child free from the nest. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.