Poets logo

Love Lives Forever

Once the bitterness and anger dissipates

By Colleen Millsteed Published 11 months ago 2 min read
4
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Another year wondering if you are happy within your world,

Has life treated you well and has it gone to plan?

Do you understand that within my heart you are alive and well,

Just as I remember back when you and I began?

***

Our love was never truly lost,

Instead it’s locked up tight in a safe and happy place,

One where I go to visit every now and again,

So that I can once more gaze upon your face.

***

All our happy memories reside deep within my heart,

The nights of loving, the deep conversation, your touch,

Buried deep within my memories, preciously guarded,

Visited as the need arises, remembered as such.

***

Years have passed but the memories never dim,

I can close my eyes and feel the love we felt,

The reminders enough to get me through the bad days,

Lucky back then with the hand we were dealt.

***

I’m honoured to have met you when I did,

The connection instantaneous as I caught your eye,

The years that followed with no regrets,

Even with the sadness of that final goodbye.

***

Would you do it all again if given the chance?

Absolutely, there’s no hesitation in my response,

Knowing the painful ending that was to follow,

I’d happily shrug my shoulders in nonchalance.

***

All good things eventually come to an end,

All bad things too shall pass,

We certainly had the most dramatic ups and downs,

But would you do it again, I ask?

***

Love is never truly lost,

As I hold you within my heart,

Yes it’s tough to say that final goodbye,

The sorrow monumental when we part.

***

But each day that passes the pain lessens,

Until all that’s left is the love we shared,

The anger, the bitterness dissipates,

But we never lose the fact we cared.

***

We were together when the time was right,

We parted when it was meant to be,

We learned our lessons, imparted our wisdom,

And walked away when it was time to be free.

***

I send you forgiveness and gratitude,

For the love and time you had to give,

Those few years that were solely ours,

For the love in which we got to live.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

love poems
4

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    This is a beautiful poem to a soulmate without any regret 💓🥰🎉

  • You are so nice and sweet my friend. I hold grudges like its my last breath, so there's no way of this happening for me 🤣

  • ❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.