Poets logo

Wounded Soul

A poem

By G. A. BoteroPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024
28
Image by G.A. Botero

I moan all day

I moan all night

Just like cats after a fight

----

My claws are strong

My claws run deep

They tend to hurt most in my sleep

----

I cut for pain

I cut for pleasure

The blood that drips relieves the pressure

---

Today I weep

Today I cry

For all my fears that have to die

++++

Mental health poem.

Support local mental health initiatives.

woundedwarriorproject.org

SAMHSA’s National Helpline is a free, confidential, 24/7, 365-day-a-year treatment referral and information service (in English and Spanish) for individuals and families facing mental and/or substance use disorders. 1-800-662-HELP (4357)

Thanks for reading.

sad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
28

About the Creator

G. A. Botero

I have a million bad ideas, until a good one surfaces. Poetry, short stories, essays.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 5 days ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • "I cut for pain I cut for pleasure The blood that drips relieves the pressure" That stanza was so relatable! I'm 3 years clean now. I hope you are okay though. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins9 days ago

    Loved the rhyme scheme. It added to the impact of the painful words. Well done, and Congrats! G.A. Hope all is well.

  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • Gloria Penelope11 days ago

    Congratulations on top story.

  • Congratulations on your top story.

  • Brenda Mahler11 days ago

    My daughter was a cutter. This brings back memories.

  • Emil Indarw12 days ago

    every wound incurred will bring good afterwards. Like you'll feel fine, afterwards :)

  • Kodah12 days ago

    Beautifully done! Love your poem 💌Congrats on top story!! 🥳🎉🥳🎉🥳

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    I hope those fears do die.

  • Margaret Brennan12 days ago

    beautifully said. congratulations on TS

  • Brin J.12 days ago

    The rhythm and flow of this made the words hit so much more harder <3. It's a tragically beautiful piece.

  • Kendall Defoe 12 days ago

    Beautiful!

  • angela hepworth12 days ago

    Painful, genuine, and extremely powerful work here!

  • Rachel Deeming12 days ago

    The rhythm makes it seem almost upbeat, G.A. but it is far from it. An excellent way to raise awareness.

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Super poem; so sad though.😩

  • Manisha Dhalani15 days ago

    There was so much power in this poetry. I hope you're okay!

  • Kendall Defoe 15 days ago

    A perfect example of less being so much more!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.