Poets logo

Into the Woods

allow me to introduce myself

By Christy MunsonPublished 3 months ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
6
Photo by Christy Munson (author)

we carry waterproof matches

a small pan

knife and compass

tent for two

enough food for five days

and in my trembling hands

a treasure map:

this discolored photograph

with edges torn by hands I never laid eyes on

with its soft gray pencil on its aged back --

the loops and slants that reveal

your name

the date of your birth

the date of your death

*

this eerie clue is all there is of you

bequeathed to me after your only daughter

my mother

passed

*

according to a properly folded note

on stationary I know to be Mother's

you lie

beneath a small flat patch of once unspoiled Virginia soil

two day’s hike beyond the Shenandoah

bearing west of the knotty pines

a country mile northeast of the centurion red oaks

*

we make camp for the night

grateful for dry weather

I watch my husband sleeping

and count my lucky stars

I never knew your handsome face

your voice

your charming skirt-chasing ways

your propensity for violence

toward my grandmother

I never knew about the child you struck from her womb

the son never to be my uncle

I never knew anything about you

the secreted truths and half-truths of your life

or that you caused your own death

*

until the reading of Mother’s will

I never knew my grandfather wasn’t

--no one wanted me to know--

but the facts found me

waiting for something

I knew nothing of

*

my husband and I

have traversed tougher terrain

but I find myself struggling to track

he leads

fifteen paces ahead

and focused

*

I imagine he is nothing like you

am I?

*

we must be getting close now

he’s close

to finding you

he’s considerate that way

doing right by me

putting my needs first

understanding what I can’t begin to

*

he waits

patiently

until I can catch up

catch my breath

*

softly I squeeze his hand

in gratitude

and gentle dismissal

*

this I must do alone

*

I fall to my knees

bend to brush away the weeds

trace the loops and slants that spell your name

place wildflowers beside the cross you bear

and despite myself

I weep

as I introduce myself

***

Copyright © 11/18/2014 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

***

Music by Brian Munson | Spoken word recited by Christy Munson

____________________________

Author's Note: This poem was written as a free style piece and later recorded as spoken word. The music was created using an online music app and samples. The embedded link connects you with my one and only spoken word album: exposure. My husband and I might make the time to properly edit it one day, but in the meantime, we hope you enjoy it.

heartbreakFree VerseFamily
6

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    I really like the flowing thoughts without punctuation, and “softly I squeeze his hand in gratitude and gentle dismissal” is such a brilliant line. Some wonderful imagery in here too. This is powerfully personal, and I loved reading it Christy. It’s such a complex feeling, and you show it to the reader so well.

  • F Cade Swanson3 months ago

    This is so gentle and loving and emotional- the contrast to your husband and that question "am I?" is so relatable. I often worry about where the legacy of my violent grandfather lives in me. Beautiful work.

  • Caroline Craven3 months ago

    This started off so gently that I was completely wrong footed by the revelation of violence. Wow. Your writing is superb. … side note: I love Shenandoah. Old Rag was a challenge as I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to heights.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.