Poets logo

i spoke to stars

in silence

By Heather HublerPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Created in NightCafe Studio

i sat and spoke to stars last night

they said nothing in return

fuckers

how hard is it

to simply let me know

they heard

maybe they don't care

which isn't shocking

really

who does anymore

but i still wish

they'd said something

since i had so much

to say

too much if i'm being honest

maybe that's why they

didn't respond

i bled out on the pavement

all my guts stretched out

my heart exposed

my lungs deflated

maybe stars don't

talk to ghosts

____________________________________________________

This is a bullshit author's note because I need to reach one hundred words to submit this piece, lol.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Gerald Holmes12 months ago

    Fuck me! I'm still laughing at your blurb at the end. Well done.

  • I'm Loving this Piece, Well Done, Heather 💖✨🤩📝!!

  • Cendrine Marrouat12 months ago

    Excellent poem! I sometimes feel that way when looking at the stars. So, I can relate. The bullshit author's note was hilarious!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Nicely done HH! I hear u my friend!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Love this. Sorry you were forced to write the authors note. It in no way takes away from the message in your poem. 💖

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER12 months ago

    Wow! I was hooked on this, especially "bled out on the pavement all my guts stretched out my heart exposed." Congratulations! 👏 maybe stars don't talk to ghosts

  • I love the note, identify with the poem. I'm not a star (in any sense of the word), but if you need to speak to someone, I'm here to listen.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    You’ve got panache. Love that realistic line…fuckers. You always score! Love this.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh12 months ago

    Hauntingly affective. The loss we feel when our deepest emotions are met with silence. As a reader of poetry I feel ilke the stars sometimes -- I absorb the words and give nothing back. So I'm commenting so I won't get flipped off. ;-) And also because I appreciate your poetry!

  • Those fucking stars! I'm flipping them off on your behalf tonight! Jokes aside, I guess we do feel like that sometimes when we've unloaded something so heavy on someone only for them to not respond. Than we'd feel so shitty for even venting to them! Lol, I love your Author's note! But the 100 word limit has long been lifted. Is it back again?

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Love the stars and the night sky!! Beautifully written and loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Gorgeous. Heartbreaking. Exposed with not a care in sight. You always manage to put the reader right into the depths of your piece, feeling all the emotions! Beautiful job, and loved your authors note!

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Felt this. Angry and full of despair with that whiplash tongue. The author's note, you know I'd love! Great piece, Heather! Loved the way you conveyed these feelings!

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Very imagery, excellent job

  • I love the authors note! I thought this was going to be a poignant breathtaking piece and then came that line….fuckers. I should have known from you! Your style never fails to impress me!

  • Ruth Stewart12 months ago

    Those carefree stars don't bother with anything smaller than themselves. Too busy having fun, I guess. Loved this!

  • Alex H Mittelman 12 months ago

    I love it! We all talk to stars!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Okay, so I read your shitty poem. Those stars are bitches, eh?

  • Jay Kantor12 months ago

    So 'H' - Your always 'Sweet Gooey' chosen topics perk-me-up while sipping my morning coffee ~ Thank you for that ~ Jay

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Oh, dear friend! This was so beautiful yet heart-wrenching at the same time, with a sprinkle of the rawness that I love so much about your work. I love the pairing of "talking to the stars" with your expressions -- "fuckers" 😅🥹❤️ You made the emotional pain so physical here - with your heart and lungs being exposed. Wonderful, compelling work! And, I love the author's note 😅

Heather HublerWritten by Heather Hubler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.