Poets logo

I Smelt It On Him

Hell hath no fury, etc.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
25
I Smelt It On Him
Photo by Tom Caillarec on Unsplash

I smelt it on him.

I smelt her on him.

I saw her messages.

I saw her lip-print on his clothes.

I heard him mumble her name in the half-light

I felt the disconnect

I saw it in his eyes

I felt it in the cooling spot next to me in the small hours

I felt it in tingle of distance left on my fingertips

When he pulled away from me

I felt it in the kisses he didn't give

That were going to someone else

I felt the distance growing

I felt it in the pricking of my tears

I felt the gut punch

I felt the disorientation

The bottom dropping from my stomach

From my world

I felt guilty

If I was better

If I was kinder

If I was prettier

If I was

If I was

If I was

If I

If

I tasted the betrayal with my whole body

I smelted it

Into raw red fury

Felt the heat from his blackening clothes

Burning the salt tracks from my face

Fire cleanses

Until there's nothing left of what my love was

Curling away into nothing

Keep your phone close

You never left it unlocked

Or

Unattended

Taking it to the bathroom with you

Run to her

And may you be as happy together as you deserve

I know she'll never

Trust you like I did

Or maybe she is stupid, like you

Run fast and far until I can't smell the stink of your failure any longer

+++++++

Thank you for reading! Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate!

+++++++

Minor edit to correct the echo

love poems
25

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    That has to be so hard. I am sorry❤️Thank you for sharing ❤️

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    This is incredibly well written and captivating. Wow, really impressive

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Oh my internal preceptor nerves rage. Great poem LC. 🥰

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Wow, that was very good, you can feel the heartbreak!

  • Burning the salt tracks from my face. This line is brilliant and is my favourite! I hate cheaters!

  • Nice work 💯❤️‼️

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    I liked this. I think sometimes people just aren't ready, When they meet the right person they will be ready, At least I hope so. I hope this is not something that happened to you.,

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    I love this stream of consciousness. It really captures what goes on in your head when a partner is unfaithful. Blaming yourself. And then letting go.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Amazing piece. Really well done.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    … and I can smell a poetry Challenge winner 😎

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow, very powerful and raw.

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    this is a sad poem, but there are such striking images. i love your way with words L. C.!!!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This is such a heartbreaking and emotional poem, L.C! It’s relatable in the worst sense as you captured raw and sadly familiar emotions with your words. I hope this is fiction because its such a terrible thing to go through and my heart really goes out to you!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Very powerful L.C.!

  • Alexander McEvoyabout a year ago

    Oof This one hurt Burned to core in the best possible way

  • Chisi limiabout a year ago

    🔥should i be sad or happy to get to read a poem from you?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.