Poets logo

For Children of all Ages

Every time it snows. Every time, man.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
16
For Children of all Ages
Photo by Hide Obara on Unsplash

fingers freeze, pink,

cold white wet crunch

powdery, icy

form it, press it

patience, pressure

pieces fall away,

frustration

grit teeth,

determined breath

hold, please hold

earnest

features creasing

frown

this is very important

taking shape

lump: body

smaller lump: head

not done

pack more to the front

left and right

are they even?

no.

cute tho.

tiny pebble nipples

hard, slippery

more pebbles

navel

face

grass for hair

wet

breast keeps falling off

wonky

it'll do

fingers aching

almost blue

yearning to wrap round a hot mug

one more pat

critical squint

smile

pride

satisfaction

turn my back

leave her

twig arms reaching out

offering her cold embrace

to passers-by

stamp, stamp

warmth

steaming tea

peek out of the window

joy

my lady in white

her name is Gretchen,

and she doesn't give a damn about your beauty standards

+++++++

I shit ye not, I do this every time it snows. Never gets old.

I remember once, as a child, I did it the traditional way. My big sister, possibly dipping her toe in feminism and thinking the usual technique sexist, made some lumpy adjustments. I was furious and devastated that she ruined my creation. I know now, that she was wise.

Thank you for reading. Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate!

+++++++

If you, like me, have a soft spot for poems that rhyme, I gotchu, babe 👇

Apologies if you think it's shite.

nature poetry
16

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    L.C. This was fabulous! I absolutely adore this, it was fun and playful and made me smile! I love that you put nipples on your snowmen, sorry snow-women! Such a fun memory and tradition! 😊

  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Hahaha fantastic! I haven't been in snow in a while, but I get it, it's impossible to NOT make funny creations. Excellently written too, such adjectives!

  • Love the form and the words

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. Well done.

  • Nikkiabout a year ago

    This is great, and I went from being frustrated to being earnest.

  • J. R. Loweabout a year ago

    So fun, and great message!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Okay!!! I liked this one. It really makes a statement

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Snowomen (Snowomyn?) rock! Great descriptive detail L.C.!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    What a joy to read!! I love snow. You took me back to times as a kids and with my kids when they were younger. Loved it! And we did snow chicks too :)

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Yay for Gretchen, another lovely piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.