Poets logo

I Seek

The shelter of love

By Laura LannPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
I Seek
Photo by Lee 琴 on Unsplash

Dad was hard, hate, rot, and bite.

An old barn of tin and wire claw.

A cage worn with rust and dust mite.

In the dark of it, I did cry and fall

Day from day, moon to dawn,

Till I left the land of his name

Step by step into sun and cool air

To heal and grow in rain and soil rich with life.

Safe, it was then I met a man who was good.

He is soft, warm, and all mine.

Rosy skin, clay form like art cast in fire,

His soul, his lips, and love help to cure

The deep bad in my mind and the burn

Of old hurt and scar left from lies told.

In the gift of calm we set up camp

Find rest and in our new home.

We fill it with plum and pine,

Brew hope like tea and rich herb.

Trail our cozy nook with moss and fern,

Vine all to grow in the gaps of time

As they now feel the kiss of well kept air.

And here I can open my wing

Take to the blue and at last fly.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelly Sibley 10 months ago

    This invoked so many visual images as I read; I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.