Poets logo

Fire's Last Nerve

an acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 13 days ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
10
Image created with Midjourney

Eggplant-purple on the highway—

Carefree on the crescent, California coast,

Little do our parents know: we’re teenaged spirit chasing woes with phantom weed and gumdrop ghosts.

In our Mitsubishi Porsche Eclipse, we are young and we

Pretend we speak, and hear, and

See no evil (while we) float off Earth with moonshinebeams into the Sun...

Every now and then, I reminisce about our time in that Eclipse (and how we) got on fire’s last nerve, just for fun.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

*

Thank you so much for all your support! 🥹 I'm around a little less these days, but I'm still here and am still trying to read all your wonderful work when I'm able to. 🥹

love poems
10

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Binkley7 days ago

    Love the picture, and the topic you choose for this poem, teenage love .

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    I think of twilight with the purple

  • Heather Hubler11 days ago

    I could feel the wonder and invincibility of youth bleeding through in this. Made me nostalgic :) and when did I last do anything 'just for fun' ?

  • Not me thinking something entirely different when I saw eggplant 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I loved the angle you went for here in this entry. Very clever! Loved your beautiful Acrostic!

  • Thavien Yliaster12 days ago

    It reminds me of a story I heard from VINwiki. This guy used to have a Mitsubishi Eclipse and while driving with his girlfriend, he blew past a police officer hiding behind a ramp going 140mph, and after a minute, quickly got off the highway and pulled into a gas station where they waited for the police cruisers to pass by before taking the back roads to drive home. Lowkey, kind of reminds me when I raced a coworker after an early morning shift. I was binging "Wangan Midnight" anime and was thinking "Wouldn't it be cool to have a storyline where people are all on the highway getting to their place of work, and it's called "Morning Stockers." It shows who's saved up money for cars, who can buy what they want, and who's stuck with what they got. Sure, some kid in a Ford Taurus might not be able to compete with a business man's Porsche 911, but that doesn't mean that he can't try." Like, there's a magical freedom that having a vehicle gives You.

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    Oh wow. This is amazing and I'm reminiscing about teenage days and stupidity.

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    Oh lord this made me nostalgic for something I suspect I never really was.

  • Great Great:) and I'm so sorry too i have been so MIA

  • Babs Iverson13 days ago

    Love it!!! 💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.