Poets logo

I See What You're Doing

Vocal Challenge: Acrostic poem using eclipse

By Christy MunsonPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
I See What You're Doing
Photo by Petri Heiskanen on Unsplash

Expecting someone else?

Can you really deny your cannibal tendencies when I see you seeking to swallow the Sun to obfuscate the truth?

Laughing, you moon the face of Earth.

I have witnessed you, first-hand, pilfering the stars.

Please, do not attempt to conceal your actions from me now.

Sacred sister, you can surpass the Sun for a time, but your victory is fleeting.

Emancipate the sky this instant and I'll see your reputation restored, or so help me Zeus!

*

*

*

***

Copyright © 04/01/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

***

Author's note: This acrostic poem is my entry in Vocal's In Eclipse Challenge. Check out all the entries here:

If you enjoyed my writing, please like, comment, and or add your insights. I also invite you to read more stories and poetry of mine here.

If you'd enjoy being alerted whenever I publish new material, consider subscribing.

I also strongly encourage you to check out other writers on Vocal. Talent abounds. Thank you for reading!

Acrostic
8

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Top Stories: 🥳

MAY '24 | MAY '24 | APR '24 | APR '24 |

MAR '24 | MAR '24 | MAR '24 |

FEB '24 | JUN '21

Unofficial Challenge Winners:

Ask Me in December | Story of Humanity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    I loved the phrase 'pilfering the stars'. What a fun but still kind of pointed piece :)

  • Joe O’Connorabout a month ago

    Love the final line as a threat or warning, and the imagery of planets warring for space up there Christy!

  • This was absolutely brilliant! Loved your poem!

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I giggled at the end, by Zeus! The moon eyes are bigger than her stomach! 😝

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    Enjoyed it!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Beautifully written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.