Poets logo

I once held the world…

A poetic journey of illusion, grief, and loss

By Kenneth cruzPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
4

I once held the world in the palm of my hand

It was hot to the touch, bringing ecstasy and pleasure like sand

Only sometimes it was too searing to withstand

The burning sensation scorched my skin and made me lose hold

So for moments I’d let go and reach for the stars hoping to find a different celestial bliss

The stars were too cold and always out of reach, so to that goal I had to fold

I looked for the world once more, truth be told

But in letting go for the stars the world had blown away like petals from a dead marigold

I looked to my heart for peace but found it didn’t exist

Too many holes had taken hold and pain poured form inside like a bleeding hemorrhage that wouldn’t cease to persist

I thought I found a cure in a distant treasure I could not resist

But in the end I found out this was just a trick

And either the devil or God himself liked to sometimes give me a lift

Only so that when I reached new heights they’d give me a kick

Back down I’d fall with a bloody lip, spirit broken from the trip

So I tell you this

As I lay in this muddy rift

Don’t try to raise me from this sinking ship

Instead let death be my gift

surreal poetryStream of Consciousnesssad poetryMental Healthlove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran24 days ago

    "Too many holes had taken hold and pain poured form inside like a bleeding hemorrhage that wouldn’t cease to persist" That line hit me so hard! Your poem was so poignant and emotional. I loved it!

  • Very energetic words!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.