Poets logo

Snack Beneath the moon

A requiem for despair…

By Kenneth cruzPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
6

Amidst the darkness, I hear the song of Raptors rage

Their song different, more like a bird in a cage singing to the pitter patter of rain in the night

Stalking their prey, ready to bite

Frozen by fear I hide

Drowning in darkness out of sight

I know they loom near

But I’m stuck here

Just a man, I can’t escape frozen like a deer in car lights

Buried like an ostrich in the sand,

I try to withstand this primal land

But danger is always at hand

The Raptors sound unique their squeals, clicks, and chirps echo tearing at mind

Confidence dwindling, my bravery left behind

I can't escape the pack even tho I’ve been trying

Soon I'll be their meal, nowhere to run, nowhere to hide

Urine and sweat, my pungent scent

Iuring them near

Marinating in fear, I feel so bare

I’ve succumb to despair

waiting for my impending doom

knowing my fate will unfold soon

My life flashing like wall carvings in my new stone tomb

I taste tears as I realize soon

I’ll be their snack beneath the moon

Free VerseProsenature poetry
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes24 days ago

    Great job, Kenneth. Well done.

  • Oooo, this was so dark and intense! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.