Poets logo

I’m dizzy under hot Street lights

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
8
I’m dizzy under hot Street lights
Photo by Rapha Wilde on Unsplash

I’m writing this poem like a chokehold,

A locked up throat,

A lump in my mouth that sunk slowly to my stomach, a hard day that lasted until the new season started

it’s so hot. It’s the kind of hot that feels like burning concrete, hot grilling stone and piercing rock

You hurt me

Did you want to hurt yourself?

I’m dizzy under the sun

I’m running down

down, down, into your arms

I’m

Fuzzy with the summer devil tongue that darkened my heart

With cold laughter that pierced my soul

You hurt me

Did you want to hurt yourself?

I’m not good, I’m not bad

I’m here, I’m here

It’s so hot

Yet here I sit, so cold

I’m so dizzy under the hot street lights

The lights that cast a shadow on my head

Judgement for bad choices

Judgement for …

You hurt me

Did you want to hurt yourself?

heartbreak
8

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Love the contradiction and the sameness. "Fuzzy with the summer devil tongue that darkened my heart With cold laughter that pierced my soul." Also that first line grabbed me by the throat. Excellent piece.

  • I especially loved the repetition here! Fantastic poem!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Marvelous yet heartbreaking!!!♥️♥️💕

  • You know better than to ask me that, Melissa, because you know that I kinda do.

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    Very nicely written. It reminds me of playing with fire and getting burned.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.