Poets logo

Chill

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Chill
Photo by Lua Valentia on Unsplash

when the next worldly revelation arrives in a billowing sky of dust, the moon breathes that painful light of creation

That icy chill that comes with the sun’s shadow

Is it so cold to freeze off limbs?

Will it warm the blood in confined confusion

Before it melts off all nerves

Like a poisoned, broken apple

Like the one Adam and Eve shared?

We tend to catalog and categorize pain in levels

It looks like a new sort of cancer

Or brand new art

A splattered canvas with no discernible detail

But how can you make this look like anything

When sun is cold

And moon is boiling hot?

When skies all black and yellow and once midnight milky blue,

Tend to staple together like inhuman claws, all red and dry and sharp

To kill your sense of humor like stuck in glass at your heel

I dance wildly with no expression, like Ariel, sea-foam forming at my fingertips and toes as you

Painfully walk past me in silence

Forgetting me is easy

But don’t forget

If you keep doing this again

If you keep going on without

Remembering stuffing others with fat you cannot trim

Kills us inside…

The sun will always run cold.

heartbreak
7

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    "It looks like a new sort of cancer Or brand new art A splattered canvas with no discernible detail But how can you make this look like anything When sun is cold and the moon is boiling hot?" Love these lines especially. Beautiful piece, once again.

  • "I dance wildly with no expression, like Ariel, sea-foam forming at my fingertips and toes as you Painfully walk past me in silence Forgetting me is easy" "We tend to catalog and categorize pain in levels It looks like a new sort of cancer" Merly, I started crying reading this and these were my favourite parts. Been quite emotional today and your words brought out my emotions in the form of tears. It's just too true and too relatable! I hope this isn't how you're feeling though. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • How could I forget you, Melissa? Myself? Easy. You? Not possible.

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Sounds like a personal Armageddon, like the pain of the whole world all compiled into a dying sun. Needing solace.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.