Poets logo

I Am Her.

Be What They Fear

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - November 2023
46
I Am Her.
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

At night I would cry because I believed in the boogyman;

Alone I would scream because I stopped believing in you.

The fight was not lost, you surrendered,

and so my resentment grew.

You taught me how to haunt myself until the shadows

of my own mind became the only thing that didn’t scare me.

Mourning the dream that died with each broken fantasy,

I ignored all toxic and fatal debris.

I gave into the dark and chose to hate in silence.

But the hate ripped me apart until the screams were deafening

in the midst of my own violence.

Compassion is one thing, forgiveness is another;

The only thing I know for sure is the warrior you fear – I have become her.

JX

slam poetrysad poetry
46

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Ruth Stewart5 months ago

    From one warrior to another - awesome work!💙✨🤗👍

  • Isabella Rose5 months ago

    The psychological torment in this is both saddening and alluring.

  • From the first two lines, I loved this poem. Powerful and cathartic.

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar5 months ago

    superb

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Haunting lines! Great work Jollyoddbod! & and congrats on your top story! 😊🎉

  • Lindsey Altom5 months ago

    Love this!!

  • Oh I'm so happy you got a Top Story for this! Congratulations!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Wow, this was so empowering and very elegantly written! Great work JX!

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    A powerful piece from a powerful human. Congratulations on your top story, and keep writing because I can't wait to read more from you.

  • KJ Aartila5 months ago

    Beautiful and powerful work! Wow!

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Oh that last line...so empowering. I appreciated the depth and strength in each of your words, amazing work. Congratulations on Top Story :)

  • Jennifer David5 months ago

    This is beautiful, simple, and yet still complex. These words are some that many feel but can't find. Thank you for sharing <3

  • Margaret Brennan5 months ago

    first of all, congratulations on TS. this poem is amazing and so true to life.

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar5 months ago

    Insightful

  • Abdul5 months ago

    wellcome dear

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    This was stirring to say the least. Just...sublime! So much emotion, so much power packed into such a short piece. Congrats on Top Story - Instant New Subscriber here!

  • Abdul5 months ago

    Love this very nice.......

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Whoa!!! That was utterly delicious. Thank you!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    A visceral feeling of utter despair and terror of selfhood being realized

  • Powerful!

  • Test5 months ago

    Terrific work! Keep it going—congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is wonderful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    Love this!

  • Real Poetic5 months ago

    Beautiful poem! Congratulations! 🎉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.