Poets logo

Horchata & the Moonbeams

an inverse poem

By Gina C.Published 3 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - February 2024
39
Sketch by Author. Watercolor + Colored Pencil + Love

You and I are tragedy; a drama

I simply don’t believe

you give me everything, and

that the fantasy of “us” can be

for deep, deep down, I see

I am but insanity: a prologue to your saga

I’m not quite certain how I could have thought

it is I who writes this story - weaves this plot;

amid horchata & the moonbeams now

I’ll wait for you: inhaling rhapsody and spiked caffeine

I think

you give me zero-effort: nada - that all our memories burst (just like piñatas) at their seams

there is war that rages on between us: an armada, and

there’s no way on Earth I’d ever deem

a text from you will surface soon upon my screen

though be it may what it will be - this truth is what I know:

I’ve always craved a healthy bit of peace and grit, bespoke

yes - our “enemies to lovers” scene was quite the Hennessy of tropes

perhaps the reason lust & loathe walk such a lean, fine rope?

oh, to play and be demeaned in all the fire, and steam, and smoke of us

amid horchata and the moonbeams now

(it floats)

like panna cotta sugar-coating lepidote, dry throats

a flare of tension lingers deeply in our humble hopes and beings

truly said, I do still make believe

I am your Juliet and you’re my Romeo: my sweet, devoted king

oh, but duly set within this world of blue and green

I could never be the luster, the detail to your moonbeams

you give me nada - not a thing - and

only in another lifetime, beyond an airy veil - unseen - is where

we are a fairy tale: a romance novel dream

(Now read it from the bottom to the top)

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

Thank you so much for all your support! 🥹 I'm around a little less these days, but I'm still here and am still trying to read all your wonderful work when I'm able to. 🥹

love poems
39

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (27)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm14 days ago

    ☺️👏✨

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Amazing poem - and all the references made my mouth water, LOL. Congrats on the TS.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on TS!🥳

  • G. A. Botero3 months ago

    Amazing writing and the sketch is beautiful.

  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    Fantastic take on the inverse challenge, and well-crafted! "perhaps the reason lust & loathe walk such a lean, fine rope?" is a brilliant line. Well done:)

  • Annetta Brown3 months ago

    Yes...I can relate

  • Kalina Bethany3 months ago

    Really enjoyed the line - "perhaps the reason lust & loathe walk such a lean, fine rope?" and getting to read it over again. Super fun (and tragically relatable) - cheers!

  • Whoaaaa, this was so stunningly mindblowingly freaking phenomenal! I loveeeeee how smoothly it flows when reading it both top to bottom and in reverse! You nailed this challenge! Loved your poem and your artwork so much!

  • Tragically broken upon first reading; hopeful, beautiful & romantic in the inverse. Marvelously well done, Gina!

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Very impressive inverse! Great work!

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Superbly written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Ace Melee3 months ago

    Beautifully written poem! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This is about four times better than anything I've managed to squeeze out! Good luck in the challenge and we'll done on your T.S. 😁

  • Gerald Holmes3 months ago

    This is such a difficult thing to do right but you have done it perfectly!!!! Congrats on a great Top Story. I hope to see this place in the challenge!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Glad when you pop in every so often, you have a beautiful voice on Vocal This latest piece of your proves it. Congratulations

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    “A prologue to your saga” what an interesting concept. Love it! Great job with this, Gina. It works so well both ways!

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    Awesome. Quintessentially you. So clever and dreamlike. Well done.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Very lovely 🥰 and dreamy piece! Very pretty and well written 💗 congrats on top story!

  • Such a talent, congrats on your top story

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Congrats on the well-deserved TS.

  • Joe Patterson3 months ago

    Outstanding.

  • Clever take on this challenge beautifully executed, no doubt a Top Story

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Incredibly beautiful piece, both ways. You nailed this, my friend.

  • Margaret Brennan3 months ago

    so beautiful. I love this and it raises my memories and creates a few fantasies.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.