Poets logo

Her Magnificent Self

Borne from the ashes of toxic love

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 1 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She worshipped the ground on which you walked,

Even when that ground was she you trampled,

Adoring your every move, your every word,

Your dreams, your wishes and the love she sampled.

***

And yet you broke her very soul,

Destroyed her with your so-called love and desire,

Stripped her bare to her very core,

Set her veins of love on fire.

***

She revelled in your every happiness,

Bending over backwards to light up your day,

Smiling broadly at any attention you throw her way,

Listening to every word of love you say.

***

Until that is you tossed her like she was trash,

Your footsteps imprinted upon her forehead in bloody tattoos,

As you stormed out of the bounds of honesty,

Leaving her in a puddle of sobs and blues.

***

She shouldered your treatment with heavy sighs,

Tolerating the abuse that you called adoration,

The light in her eyes slowly dulling,

Until her love is left in a pile of cremation.

***

Was that your original intention?

To break the back of her beauty and innocence?

To leave her a tangled web of sorrow and pain?

To cull her sheer magnificence?

***

But as you didn’t stick around the kill site,

You didn’t bear witness to her incredible strength,

As she rose from the ashes, a brilliant flaming phoenix,

Rebuilding her esteem, her worth, every harrowing length.

***

Now when the sun rises on another precious day,

She opens her eyes and sends thanks your way,

Grateful for the power and strength you helped her find,

To become the perfect womanly spirit she places on display.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Image courtesy of the Author

Originally published on Medium

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    It was all so relatable until the part where she rose from the ashes. Because I'm still lying dead in my pile of ashes 🤣🤣🤣 But I loved your poem! It's so great to have you back!

  • There were three in my life who treated me with such adoration who I remember treating poorly as I simply could not find a way, with all of my fondness for them, to fall in love. But neither could I find a healthy way to embrace their friendship. I could blame it on be autistic, but I think it was simply more cowardice within me. I pray they found their rebirth as the phoenix each of them deserve to be. And though I have no right or privilege to see them rise, I shall be thankful for it, nonetheless.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, powerful. Well done.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.