Poets logo

Healing

A poem of hope

By Ruth StewartPublished 9 months ago β€’ 1 min read
21
Healing
Photo by Matt Perkins on Unsplash

Shattered pieces of my broken psyche

Like a severed porcelain cup, shards

Scattered over the filthy floor.

Impossible to see it all,

I gently pick up a piece.

A jagged, sharp piece of me,

I clean it. The tender words of my counsellor

Encourage me, though tears abound,

Kintsugi begins.

love poemsinspirational
21

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    So touching and beautiful. I have always loved the idea of Kintsugi, and you created such a stunning metaphor for healing out of it. 🀍

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Excellent work Ruth! I remember reading this but didn’t seem to have commented. Apologies. Have a good one! β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    This was very hopeful. I loved it and also learned a new word (kintsugi). Thank you for sharing, Mrs. Author of the Day! 🀩

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    I like the picking up of the jagged shards of you part. Such a great poem of hope and healing.

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    I love it! You’re a great poet! So much emotion in this!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Gorgeous! What a wonderful piece filled with hope. I love your reference to kintsugi! Embracing the broken pieces, making something beautiful with them–the beginning of beautiful healing. Stunning work, Ruth!

  • Leslie Writes9 months ago

    Beautiful. I wish you the best in your healing journey. <3

  • Colt Henderson9 months ago

    Short and sweet like advertised. I need to look up kintsugi.

  • Oh I love the kintsugi! This was such an emotional and uplifting poem!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Wow. All the beauty of the asymmetrically broken. I needed that poem! thanks. So very cathartic.

  • Intense expression!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    gorgeous work!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is beautiful. Well done, Ruth.

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Beautiful words. Well done.

  • Joelle EπŸŒ™9 months ago

    YesπŸ’•

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Stunning, darling, just stunning. I love the way you ended it with a reference to Kintsugi!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.