Poets logo

The UnChildhood

A poem.

By Ruth StewartPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
22
The UnChildhood
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Playing with toys from upstairs and downstairs,

Hoping not to get into trouble,

Listening for footfall, so I can make an early escape.

*

“Do-as-you-are-told-when-you-are-told.”

Three times a week, for years and years

I don’t know the words to stop it, so I say nothing.

*

He says “Come here!”,

My heartbeat speeds

I caught his eye this time. My young self trembles.

*

I say nothing, I do nothing, I obey.

My complicated brain hides it away.

Steeped in my subconscious, the memory remains.

sad poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
22

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Ruth, such a powerful and emotional piece/poem. Terrific writing! 😞😊

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    This is so heartbreaking but so well written. I'm really sorry for what you went through

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    The pain in the memory really seeps through. Beautifully expressed.

  • A. Lenae9 months ago

    The strength in creating this beautiful poem is a large presence; to put this reflection into such profound and delicate words is a huge feat. I'm so sorry for what may have led to the need for this piece to be written. I hope sharing this special piece gives you what it has given others who read it.

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    I can feel innocent sadness and sombre through the words. That's a great poem 👏🏽

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    This is beautifully written with a not so subtle hint of heartbreak. I'm sorry.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    The tone of this poem was expertly expressed. I felt it. Well done!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Eloquently written but it is heartbreaking!!💕❤️

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Heartbreaking. This one resonated very deep– No child should have to live like this. Ruth, hank you for writing this beautiful and heavy piece, and for sharing with all of us! 💞

  • "Because I said so" was a popular one in my family when I was younger. I am also sorry for what you went through; everyone deserves a childhood free from fear

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    A lot of hidden truth here. Thank you.

  • "This is not a democracy." My mother's voice every time we objected to something she wanted that made no sense to us.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Oooo I really relate to this one!! Found your poem from Paul’s Vocal Deep Cuts!! Love it !

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I felt this so strongly. Such a powerful message delivered with brevity.

  • This was so tragic! I wish I can protect all children from this 🥺💔

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    There are so many underlying meanings in the words we utter. One has to listen really well to catch them all. This was so deep and many layered, A great poem.

  • Joelle E🌙9 months ago

    Awww Ruth ❤️❤️ kids are so sensitive. I feel like this kind of parenting should be outlawed LOL. Jk but kinda not… beautifully written ❤️

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Horrible, but wonderfully expressed.

  • Abuse never leaves you no matter how many years go by

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Sad...heartbreaking but beautifully expressed. This is one of my favourites by you so far. Love it, even if I don't love that anyone would have to go through feeling that way! xxx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.