Poets logo

He's Not That Bad, Really

Though I may be biased

By Cathy holmesPublished 7 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - October 2023
61
Photo by Drew Coffman on Unsplash

Rob, I take you as

my awful wedded husband,

said the blushing bride.

***

True story. That was my former sister-in-law's vow to my brother on that fateful day many years ago. It was a small service, with the bride and groom, and some close family members. Of course, we all started giggling when she made that slip.

The officiant tried to reign us in so he could complete the ceremony, but wasn't very successful considering he was laughing as much as we were. I think the only person there who wasn't laughing was my brother. Oops!

love poemshumor
61

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Hahahaha! That is so funny!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    This made me chuckle! Thanks and I appreciated your recap at the end!! πŸ˜†

  • Lena Folkert7 months ago

    I almost spat my coffee out. Fantastic! Of course, not for poor Rob πŸ˜…β€οΈ

  • That's a cute story.

  • hahahahaha...this is great, congrats on getting top story

  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    Hahaha this gave me a good laugh! Thank you for sharing, Cathy!

  • Thavien Yliaster7 months ago

    Well, as per her own words, Gerald may be awful but at least he's not terrible. If he was terrible, he would've been left at the altar. I hope she made it up to him since then.

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    Wait, what - your FORMER SIL 🀣 loved it.

  • Abdullah7 months ago

    Great job

  • Right up there with "Untied United Methodist Church" (or anything else with "United" in the name).

  • Lana V Lynx7 months ago

    This is really funny.

  • Gerald Holmes7 months ago

    This is funny as F**K and as true as death and taxes.

  • Denise E Lindquist7 months ago

    Good one! Wow!! He may have saved himself some misery if he stopped it right then and there.πŸ˜‰ I thought I heard that at a wedding once. My husband at the time assured me it wasn't said. They are divorced too.

  • Tiffany Gordon 7 months ago

    Great job!!!!

  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    Oh man! A proper snafu. I hope he found the humor eventually, though!

  • Back to say congratulations on your awful, sorry I meant lawful, no I meant laughable Senryu!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    This is such a sweet poem/ story! Great work Cathy and congrats on Top Story!

  • The Dani Writer7 months ago

    Awww man, that's priceless lols! Top Story Congrats!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    🀣🀣🀣 Priceless! Congratulations!

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    Love it! Congrats! ❀️

  • Cyrus7 months ago

    Cute! Also, if you guys are interested in joining a community of writers, view my profile for more details!

  • Kageno Hoshino7 months ago

    Nice points

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Ahh, the ole Freudian slip! πŸ˜… congrats on your top story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby7 months ago

    I love this very honest blunder lol great point to elevate the moment

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.