Poets logo

Great Teller of Truths

A Sideways Ode to the Looking Glass

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - August 2023
Great Teller of Truths
Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

Looking past “me” was ordinary.

I wondered if a better land was just there

past hated arms and limp straw hair. This

                     

was masochistic torture, to see myself

tantalizingly out of happiness’s light

stuck in a well of slimy (truths).

                 

The sky shimmered pink clouds

tinged with gilded underside; or a meteor shower,

backdrop a navy ripple, silver moon

                      

and jewel-blue teases—puddles where I stood.

The mirror’s wonderful secret was just there

so I pressed my face to the proverbial window, saw

                   

a land opposite my own. It resonated,

frequency of want, of envy for its beauty

that I looked past “me” and clung to it

                  

with eyes holding pleas of fear, sadness,

lacking. Eyes that wished a sultry depth anew.

That hazel is a parched moss—dying. And I saw

                

the mirror’s diamond world: my own reflection

nearer the vision of people from my land;

but not me, stuck on this side of wonderful.

                 

If I stay here, still, unblinking, unfocused

could I discover it? (these years of dodging.)

The mirror has an answer: Oh, Teller of Truths.

                 

At least, that’s what I hear, lessons from the wise

and weathered, those too occupied to stare just there

and wait for magic’s glisten. How do they know?

                  

How does one know that time's gossamer

is a woven blanket, sewn by withered hands?

I will heed those words and curl ‘neath waiting.

                      

Once, a flicker in my reflection

chased the truth of my land out and out,

like a freed moth to the belly of a hawk,

                  

and so I glimpsed it, then;

              

And twice, a shadow moved in a black mirror,

and a black mirror reveals truths unfathomable,

so I watched, wary of revelation. Nothing

                   

was still then. So thrice, I stand before liquid silver,

frozen, save for eyes and breath. So thrice, I stare,

willing stillness to open the secret wonderful.

                    

So thrice I count the light, shadow, spirits,

wondering when I will see it (when will I see it?)

this endeavor toward the stare, repulsed,

                    

gaping out of crystalline depths—me just there.

                      

Oh, mirror, time has stolen me from me,

laid my soul bare upon your lap. Do you see it

whimpering as it meets your eye? I crave a blessing,

                                            

yet all I find is dry forest floor illuding comfort.

You say, I hold you in truth unacknowledged.

And I exist with a breath that pulses on your face

                      

beating down the flush at being seen and known

Unending is my own stare within your arms.

And as time gives me back a calm, fresh as wind,

                         

I open wider. Oh, mirror, is that my soul,

laid bare upon my face? It is nothing in my periphery

just blur and this here, my own self at last –

                          

and seen. It is a secret, I think,

that you have held in plain sight, or perhaps

shrouded in a mist of visions and tall-tales

                   

of secret wonderful things; that in stillness,

the sages portend the ignorance of they who hide.

Oh, I see so much. You, Great Teller of Truths, who held me

                    

in fragile grace, hidden as a flicker, a shadow,

years and my demands, and my tears over lies,

answering a whimper from wild, anguished thrashing.

                   

You —

Here.

                                       

***

surreal poetryart

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (24)

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    A strange sense of presence the self can be! I came to this all too tardy, but it is truly magical and unsettling read, which means a great experience. ;) The "Learn to look at all things with a kind of mental squint" is demonstrated so beautifully in your poem. My favorite are these stanzas: The sky would shimmer pink clouds tinged gold underside, or a meteor shower backdrop a navy ripple, silver moon and jewel blue tease—puddles where I stood. The mirror’s wonderful secret was just *there* So I pressed my face to the proverbial window;

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    Congratulations. This is fantastic, I think I need to read it all again.

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    Well done and very deserving of the TS spot!

  • Awesome ✨ Congratulations 🎉 on Your Top Story💯❤️😉📝🎉

  • ARC10 months ago

    This is beautiful, Mackenzie. Love your train of thought here. Sideways indeed... what a fun way to travel through the looking glass. Great work and congrats on a worthy TS! 💙

  • Missclicked10 months ago

    WONDERFUL!! congratulations on top story

  • JBaz10 months ago

    So poetic and beautifully written. A very well deserved Top Story

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is truly spectacular writing. Well beyond just good or great, Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    *sigh* this is good, good stuff. Well done, lovely words. ❤

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Beautifully written. I enjoyed reading this very much. Congratulations on your well-deserved Top Story!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa10 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story. Very nice read!

  • Mercy Essien10 months ago

    What an epic story

  • Top Story, Indeed!!! Congratulations, my friend.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant & brilliantly written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Wendy Spence10 months ago

    great and easy to read and understand

  • Brenton F10 months ago

    your words, your image - almost perfection!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I don't think it ever occurred to me that the mirror was showing more than where my eyes were focused. You've given me a whole new perspective. Excellent piece. Congrats on the TS.

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    This is a masterpiece. Like honestly, straight up a MASTA-PIECE! I will be back.

  • ..."Oh, mirror, is that my soul, laid bare upon my face?" I'm speechless. I have no words. I love it.

  • As I mentioned to someone else just recently, the mirror only shows one perspective, one side, & only the outside of that. What we see is an entirely different matter. What you see, Mackenzie, I'm not quite sure, but I come to realize that as I reflect upon your writing I see different things in every line & stanza. Marvelously, entrancingly, enchantingly, invitingly, mesmerizingly well done.

  • This took my breath away and brought tears to my eyes. You are phenomenal!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Stunning, sad, heartbreaking even. How do you manage to do it - pull these masterpieces out? Fine work, Mackenzie, fine fine fine work!

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Introspective and sad, such nostalgia in the words. The depths of the mirror hides and tells so much.

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.