Poets logo

Light My Love

An oddly shaped ode to a custom made lamp

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
This is the actual lamp.

(Up on your pedestal, I send you my love, for—)

I know the hands that hammered this arch into a hook, a handle for a pocket watch. I know the fingers that have since broken in their passion for crafting your kin; the legs that march for spare parts scattered, junk stores in our town; the lungs inhaling metal and garage dusts; the beard that is graying nine hairs at a time from start to luminary finish.

You are an electrical system wrapped inside a shell, yet such a world is brought with you, a world I love, for he bled over you, hours into months, so I know it, feel it, see it in my every day. You are the extension of a soul who knows my own from its birth, who saw the glass box you once were and thought, “I can put a light in there” and did.

(Edison’s to be exact, plus two flickering reds, with a satisfying click-switch and vintage, of course.)

I know the mind that sees time as a speeding bullet, but that adores the gears inside a pocket, quartz, wall-mounted, grandfather, and adds them to the likes of you—and I like you. I hear that mind as an eager gear itself, actualizing in mini-me’s, always breaking open and repairing, therapy and injury.

(I ask you, what is the difference?)

It is you I love, for your atmospheric warmth, smooth reflective curves, your timeless “of an age” beauty that etches your very being. You belong in a museum/futurism expo, all oxidized brass and hooked latticed door latch, two red-stoned flower petal knobs making symmetrical the hand-warped hook for a crowning tree fob watch.

Tonight I listen to the switch flip, trigger happiness within my own soul, your glimmering map to trace a line from birth to death and give me light to see love embedded in each fiber of brass glass wood

and time itself.

vintagelove poems

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Mesh Toraskar11 months ago

    This is absolutely mesmerising, just as the lamp itself. Sprinting to nominate this for TS but will be back with more thoughts!

  • Mackenzie, I just saw this. It's beautiful. So much more than an ode to a lamp--an ode to life, the light within, and the switch flip. My mother once made a blanket for me. She told me to put it around my shoulders when she could no longer hug me. Your poem evoked this memory. An eternal honor.

  • Ah, the treasures of yore & the stories they have to tell. Such a blessing.

  • I don't think anyone would have been able to write an ode about that lamp more beautifully than you did! Wonderful work!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    These red lights and the shadows they cast create a somewhat eerie effect. Made me think of witches😅 But then I decided to read your od(d)e. Beautiful piece! 'I hear that mind as an eager gear itself, actualizing in mini-me’s, always breaking open and repairing, therapy and injury. ' - so eloquent and vivd! I caught myself repeating 'eager gear' again and again with different intonations:)

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    When is an object not just an object? When a brilliant poet decides, "I can put a light in there." Your love for this object and its maker is a tribute to the joy and the cost of creation. I think my favorite line is, "the beard that is graying nine hairs at a time from start to luminary finish."

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    Your words have served to make the lamp even more precious! + I wish I was a moth because that is one smick lamp!

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    The lamp is really one of a kind, does the middle bulb light up red? The Ode sets its block squarely on its pedestal, to confront the reader with the story of its past and its creator. Objects can be so very imbued with that sense of time, and memory of a loved one. Very lambent and metallic, good workmanship!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    This...is...incredible! Stunning custom lamp and astonishing ode! You poured so much into this! Very well done, Mackenzie!

  • Test11 months ago

    This is sublime, Mackenzie. So many layers, such heady imagery... an ode to the maker as well as the lamp itself. I love your oddly shaped ode, and now I love your lamp as well.

Mackenzie DavisWritten by Mackenzie Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.