Poets logo

In The Beginning, God Created POWER.

Before the Darkness.

By The SonPublished 3 days ago 2 min read

Seconds before the DARKNESS was met with light something came before. Maybe the origin of it all.

Power was the first breath to be spoken while oxygen clumsily hurried behind it. Power was there before life even planted its seed.

Though men worship a many gods, one supersedes all. It is a game and a tempter the rock that lays Goliath under our feet.

The many colored men all fought and still do a war now silently won and relinquished. Superiority was carved on its grave the man that ate the most hearts crawled his way to the top of the pile of flesh rotting beneath him all men, all children, and a woman.

If only we had known to build a tower on flesh and bone, not stone we may have soon encountered Yahweh.

Peeked behind the darkness to know if it all mattered.

Now one man stands at the top a silent admiration.

We must resign ourselves to BE AS WE HAVE ALWAYS BEEN.

No method to this madness.

Though I used to watch now I find my shoes fit no longer. Morphed into the size of men I put my dolls away and commence.

A companion once told me life mimicked a video game. Each level held a reward and no one could leave without the game master's permission.

Left to our own devices we take each level and lose bits of ourselves in the climb.

They say 'there is no place as lonely as the top' no place as dangerous either.

To be or not to be to kill or be killed.

One finds himself predator or prey.

Then the unique human condition comes to be.

POWER

Is the reason to life, to you, to me.

What began as a moment of pleasure soon became a massacre.

DEATH follows immediately after a telling triumph of what it means to be alive, to survive.

9 months LET THE GAMES BEGIN.

A level built on hunger or hardship while another got Gold and actual ships.

You do be lucky to look like sand the man at the top says that.

Fight with your body, your mind, or luck.

Sell your body, sell your child, or sell yourself.

Does it matter?

All I see is high ceilings.

Top floors.

No morals.

Weak tots.

I weaned myself off her milk so I may grow strong.

Now grown.

I fought.

I am embarrassed to admit my desire for more.

To hold the world in my mouth and swallow.

To be the man at the top, one hand with a beating heart and another reached out at God.

fact or fictionsocial commentary

About the Creator

The Son

The prodigal son who never returned.

I write stories inspired by my experiences and fiction.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    The SonWritten by The Son

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.