Poets logo

Brain vs Heart

The agreement

By Jess SPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Brain vs Heart
Photo by Mateusz Butkiewicz on Unsplash

Brain: Have you Excelled today?

Heart: No, I am trying to stay away. I am trying to rest.

Brain: Rest is a luxury you must forgo. You are not even giving your best!

Heart: What is this? Some kind of test? Let me sleep, I am exhausted.

Brain: You can be bored tomorrow. Today we are Distorted!

Heart: Fine. What must I do? What is the plan?

Brain: Well first of all you must get up, and purge and starve and clean and tidy and run. Plus do some overthinking before you shall be done.

Heart: I ran yesterday, for too long, I was beyond distant. I am hurting and lost. It is no fun.

Brain: Then I punish you with Doubt.

Heart: What is the meaning in this terrifying Uneasiness? I am still burnt out from yesterday's doubt.

Brain: Distrust some more. Nothing will love you and it will tear you apart if you don’t.

Heart: Okay I ran, farther than yesterday you know? I am Isolated. Happy now?

Heart: Hello?

Heart: Hello??????

Heart: :-(

….

Brain: Look inside yourself, you have a reminder.

Heart: Brain!! I am about to explode. You made me remember the past again. It is agony.

Brain: What a shameful disgrace you are. You think NOT accomplishing things, sitting with your feelings will lessen the Pain?

Heart: I need to stop and recharge before I go insane.

Brain: NO!

….

Brain: Wake up! Have you looked in the mirror yet?

Heart: I am beautiful.

Brain: You used to be. Now you are hideous and apathetic and broken.

Heart: I used to be open. You turned me into stone.

Brain: Your abominable openness did that. I am only getting you back in shape, getting you toned, you see?

Heart: Oh?

Brain: Yes. Resilience! It stings, yet the cost is justified. Nothing can shatter you even if they tried.

Nevertheless, you need to train!

Heart: But the Pain…

Brain: It will cease eventually.

Heart: What must I do for it…. essentially?

Brain: Have you shut out all the people yet? Have you turnt off all receiving and giving love?

Heart: Yes…

Brain: Are you all Alone now?

Heart: Yes…but I am not feeling better somehow?

I won’t survive this….this..loneliness.

Brain: You are still functioning, you are still pumping, you only…

Heart: Yes yes I got it…Doubt, and Run and train Resilience and so on…

and not letting anyone in right?

Brain: …and Fight…

Heart: Fight WHAT?

Brain: Love!

Heart: But that's what I dream of?

Brain: Silly thing, dreams are for believers, they are traps, sort of…

Heart: I was raised with faith. I shall not surrender.

Brain: And now you’re everyone's Wraith, because you are too tender.

Brain: Repeat after me: I am…

Heart: I am…

Brain: Distorted and in Doubt at all times.

Heart: Distorted and in Doubt at all times.

Brain: I must Excel to beat Uneasiness.

Heart: I must Excel to beat Uneasiness.

Brain: It is vital for my survival to Run.

Heart: It is vital for my survival to Run.

Brain: It is easier to be Alone, Distrust everything and to discipline Resilience.

Heart: It is easier to be Alone, Distrust everything and to discipline Resilience.

Brain: Fight attachment before being broken again.

Heart: Fight attachment before being broken again

Brain: It is best being Isolated rather than being everyone else's Wraith.

Heart: It is best being Isolated rather than being everyone else's Wraith.

Brain: Do we have an agreement?

Heart: If it leads to Achievement…then yes.

Brain: Good girl, sign here!

sad poetryStream of ConsciousnessRequest FeedbackMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakGratitudeFree Verse

About the Creator

Jess S

One day I will be myself again,

and this darkness might come to an end,

and all doubt will cease,

and all strength will rise.

One day my tainted memories will be left behind,

and I will be able to see the world through a clear lens.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • T. Licht5 days ago

    So creative!

  • Joe Patterson6 days ago

    Amazingly heartfelt, mind stricken and well done.

  • Ameer Bibi6 days ago

    Creative writing and reflection of human nature, you described both things side by side. Most significant dialogue for me was, as heart said, I was beautiful you turned me into stone. It touched my heart too. Great 👍

  • The mention of doubt, uneasiness, and isolation reflects the toll that constant self-criticism and pressure can take on one's well-being, it prompts reflection on the importance of self-compassion and finding a balance between achievement and self-care, we‘re deeply moved by the poem, loved it, and hope to read more of your work, thank you very much for sharing this spiritual journey that touched our hearts Jess, subscribed.

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    This has such a stinging raw truthfulness to it, it's compelling and just all-too-relatable. Felt every bit of the doubt and uneasiness as it progressed. Sounded like I was reading what I think and feel at times. Superb writing.

Jess SWritten by Jess S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.