Poets logo

Grains

For my Grandchildren

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
23
Grains
Photo by FORREST CAVALE on Unsplash

See that speck, there, that pebble?

That minute grain of sand?

Yes, that one right there

In the palm of your hand.

*

It's nothing worth noting.

Just a small building block

That fortifies bonds

And strengthens a rock.

*

It's a piece, just a fragment,

One in ten billion score,

Of vast deserts and beaches

On this world, and more.

*

But, look a bit closer.

Look deeper and see,

It, too, is a construct,

Like you and like me.

*

It's much more than its surface.

Inside, it's a jumble

Of minuscule worlds

That twirl and tumble.

*

It's our kin on this level.

It's ragged and rough,

Imperfect, just like us,

Made of the same stuff.

*

It's magic, and part

Of this magical place,

From the depths of the oceans

To the vastness of space.

*

And we're all intertwined,

You, that pebble and me.

In a way we can't fathom,

By a bond we can't see.

*

And we need that connection.

We must have it to thrive.

Without it, we flounder,

Just barely alive.

*

Feel the ground underneath you.

Feel the birds in the air.

Be at one with the cosmos,

And I'll see you out there.

***

This was inspired by the Grains of Sand Challenge, created by Cendrine Marrouat. You can read about it and enter your own creation, here:

nature poetrysurreal poetry
23

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (23)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz9 months ago

    I sadly missed this one when it was originally posted. That is my loss. It truly is one of those memorable and lasting pieces.

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    Dana– Truly, this absolutely gripped me! I just had to read it three times because I loved it so much. Such a profound lesson written with such a playful cadence! This is one of my all-time favorites of yours! It would make a magnificent children's book!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Beautiful life lesson. Creation coming together in perfect harmony. Well crafted my friend, words to live for,

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Oh, this is sooo beautiful and flows like a dream! The message in this is superb. I can't pick a favorite line or stanza, but the end ties it all together so well for me!

  • The Dani Writer10 months ago

    A beautiful message in this poem Dana. What a great format!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Dana, the rhyme scheme in this poem is superb, it has this velvety feel and flow to it! It felt reflective and thought provoking, making me ponder the meaning of life and the purpose of it all! Great work, I loved it!

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Loved this, Dana! It flows effortlessly. And I love that last stanza! "I'll see you out there." Great!

  • Whoaaaa! That was superb! This felt a lot like a poetic motivatedal speech!

  • My freshman year of high school, our science fair project was entitled, "Infinite vs. Infinitesimal Matter". We didn't have much for a display, just a model of our solar system & another of an atom, but we won 1st place for presentation. From "Horton Hears a Who" to the present I have been fascinated by the thought of universes contained within atoms & universes created by our own in combination with unending others.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Jeez Dana… 🥹 I can’t even pick out a favorite line or two. Not a word was wasted, and it all flows so nicely, expressing that those feelings of connection transcend time and space.

  • Harmony Kent10 months ago

    Dana, I’m so wowed by this. Absolutely spot on and wonderfully expressed! I love it and think you’ve risen to the challenge beautifully. Bravo 💕🙂

  • Exceptionally written. The rhythmic structure and rhyme scheme are excellent. Great job Dana!

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Dana, I only have one thing to say to you: Magnificent!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    Wow. This is incredible. Really well done.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This is beautiful, sir. I love the way you have framed it and formatted it, can really see you, picture you telling this to your grandkids. I just looked down and saw that everyone said the same thing lol. Damn it! Oh well, it doesn't stop it being true! It's sheer perfection, Dana! Love it! 🫡actually deserves a salute this time!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Dana, love this!!! Awesome grains of sand poem!!!

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    This is so lovely, I can imagine a grandparent talking to a child, explaining. Crouched down, bent head, pointing. A wide-eyed child. Just a perfect moment! Great stuff. I hope it makes a top story!

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    I liked this, it gave me a vaguely Dr. Seus feeling that I really enjoyed and makes perfect sense as you dedicated it to your grandkids. Brilliantly told :)

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    I can see you, crouched next to a child, pointing at one tiny spec and helping them see the universe. It's almost like you are Horton, channeling the Whos in Whoville.

  • Perfectly Told while painting vivid imagery ❤️💯😉📝👍

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Gosh I loved this!! Those last two lines hit me. You did a great job at Cendrine's challenge :)

  • WOOO, that is amazing! Seriously, so well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.