Poets logo

You, Me and Us

What was and is and will be

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
28
You, Me and Us
Photo by Jamez Picard on Unsplash

Were we ever

“You” and “Me?”

Or have we been “Us”

For all of our days,

One, and one, but

Each half of the “We”

That must be?

I feel this.

Was each “You”

Of the past

Just a step on the path,

Or a gift of fate

To show the risk

And keep us wary

Of the lure of lust?

I deem this.

To live in “Us”

Is to know that a soul

Can hold a bond

Over eons, and wait

As “You” and “Me”

Find the way to love,

True and ever new.

I know this.

And I will give

All that I have,

For now

And for all the time

I have left in this life

To keep “Us” as pure

And real as that bond.

I vow this.

***

Thanks for reading!

This is an entry for the Vocal "Short and Sweet" challenge, which you can read about here:

love poems
28

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    beautiful

  • This is outstanding. Also brought tears by the end. Thank you for the beauty ❤️✨

  • Sarah D9 months ago

    This is a beautiful poem. It resonated, and I felt a pulse while reading. As if it were written by someone long ago.

  • Caroline Jane10 months ago

    The whole is so much greater than the sum of its parts. Great concept delivered with real sincerity. Love it.

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Truly truly stunning. Such a romantic poem and grounded love shown. I won’t rehash what others have said, but I concur with the praise. I hope this places in the challenge, Dana. 💜

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Dana, this was really beautifully written! It felt passionate and really had a sense of devotion for someone you really love! It reads like someone who's been in love for so long they forget what it's like not to have it. They question what they would be without it but not in a curious sort of way, more like "I can't believe I ever went without this". It was heartfelt and so well written! 💕

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Wow. This is my favorite poem of yours. You have articulated what I’ve always suspected about love—that each experience we have along the way, with everyone who touches our lives, is to prepare us for the one we’re meant to remain with. So really both people were a couple the whole time, preparing themselves for physical union and learning not to take one another for granted. Can’t believe you wrote this with words of 4 letters or less!

  • A soul can hold a bond over eons. I really loved that! Fantastic poem!

  • Plato would be so pleased. Beautifully written.

  • Emma Kate Coleman10 months ago

    Imagine receiving this as a wedding vow. 🫠☺️😅 Loved it, Dana!

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is gorgeous, my friend. Wonderful piece.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    I always enjoy reading your work. This is the best poem I have read from you!

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    This is truth! So very well done.

  • As always, what everyone wants to hear and feel

  • Test10 months ago

    So beautiful, Dana. On my way to leave but had to comment that I love your poem. So heartful and deep.💙Anneliese Question: last line wow or vow? Goodbye for a while, Dana. Take care of yourself and I wish all the blessings in your life to continue and grow.

  • Lamar Wiggins10 months ago

    Very charming and I loved the interpretation of (us). Great entry!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Great work! Glows with the open-hearted grace of a stalwart love. Thanks!

  • Hannah Moore10 months ago

    I feel like this describes perhaps how love would be in heaven, if we honour it along the path.

  • Alexander McEvoy10 months ago

    That was super sweet I love the philosophy of identifying as part of a whole and questioning if that we’re ever separated. Reminds me of that Greek myth where all people were once a part of a conjoined pair and then the gods split them apart in the ancient days and now have to find their missing other half. At least, I think it’s Greek 🤔

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    Aww, this was very touching. I loved these lines so much, 'Is to know that a soul Can hold a bond Over eons, and wait' Just lovely, Dana :)

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Wow, Dana! Breathtaking in concept, structure, and flow. Absolutely wonderful job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.