Poets logo

Dreamt

Unreal

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 8 days ago Updated 8 days ago 2 min read
Dreamt
Photo by Eriks Abzinovs on Unsplash

was it a dream

I made up in my head

was it all that it seemed

or made-up things that I read

did I dream you dreamed of me

lost together in twilight

or did my dreams of make believe

come for me again, last night

I vaguely remember you holding my hands

and ever so softly touched my face

we carefully laid out our wildest plans

to one day, together, escape

but this morning when I awakened

the truth, plain to see

my faith in dreams, shaken

you weren’t next to me

I made my way to sixth and main

where you run your coffee shop

caught the early morning train

before I got the nerve to stop

I stood in line and waited

watched your smile brighten the room

but your smile hesitated

while I was lost in your perfume

"can I help you," you politely asked

your voice, sweet as cherry pie

I caught my breath and nearly gasped

like I was any other guy

when did I become a ghost

how did I miss the signs

the words got tangled in my throat

as I stood, waiting in line

you looked like a vision

in your polka dot blouse

I begged god for permission

and the nerve to ask you out

yeah, that’s the way it starts out

in this reoccurring dream

the waters still uncharted

the ones of you and me

paper hearts with passions burning

souls on fire, leaving their mark

in all the world, forever searching

the perfect match to fit my heart

I find myself hanging on the edge of my bed

the edge of the world

awaiting the dreams in my head

for the us to return

when I fall fast asleep

and I look for you there

snuggled up warm in the sheets

I fluff my pillow to prepare

and night after night

for a few hours at least

I get to hold you tight

and my world is complete

I would surrender my days

to stay lost in this dream

if only we could stay

I trade the sun for moonbeams

but the sun always rises

pushing the moon, out of sight

despite the devices

I use from disturbing the night

my curtains are blacked out

my sheets, made of satin

and if there's any doubt

I take a quick dose of Ambien

to stay in this world

where you and I are the stars

where dreams are preserved

and true love can be ours

I put my phone on vibrate

and the TV volume down low

I minimize how I hydrate

limiting how much I will go

the trips to the bathroom

threaten my sleep

going to the restroom

could disrupt my dream

so, I've set up a system

a little trick that I use

when that urge is persistent

to keep the pressure reduced

I sleep with my legs up

pillows packed like a tower

so, the need doesn't disrupt

our few, fleeting hours

another night, I just lay here

convincing myself

you're my bedtime souvenir

I can't settle for less

surreal poetrylove poemshumorFor Fun

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 days ago

    Gosh he drinks less water to reduce trips to the bathroom during the night so that he could dream longer about her? Whoaaaa

  • John Cox8 days ago

    This poem is perfection itself, Kelli! It’s like a fairy tale in dream form. Since we sleep away a third of our lives seems like a good idea to enjoy it. Course it’s always better if we can solve the happiness equation in our waking life.

  • Cathy holmes8 days ago

    That was wonderful. Great job!

  • Mark Graham8 days ago

    You do have some kind of dreams, and I thought even some of this lyric poem could be song or two.

  • Ameer Bibi8 days ago

    What a dream you have Love your thinking and love your imaginations

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.