Poets logo

Not Everyone's Cup Of Tea

More Like A Glass Of Sweet Red Wine

By Angel AdagioPublished 8 days ago 1 min read

Not everyone likes me,

a younger version of me would weep at that sentiment.

Now, I look at it as a badge of honor from all the wars I have been through,

deep wounds of past friendships and loves that were never meant to be.

The conditions of love were not ideal,

which was the issue - they were conditional.

If I did not meet the parameters of the nonexistent contracts,

their love would be revoked.

Can you imagine all the broken contracts I've had in my time?

I sense they painted me the villain or the issue they couldn't fix,

replaced me with someone who was more like-minded so they could have their gray little lives,

I see the world for all the colors.

If mediocrity is what makes you happy, so be it.

Sip your stale water,

my wine is too refined.

inspirationalfact or fiction

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 days ago

    Very well written! Great work

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.