Poets logo

Disobedience

One foot in the past, one foot in the future

By Anna TorresPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
Disobedience
Photo by Cassandra Ortiz on Unsplash

I needed more than the bare minimum. You probably think you did your best but I provided more. What I require is exactly what I am capable of giving. I didn't ask for the impossible but the choices you made were insanely poor. There was a process I initiated and boundaries I expected you to follow. Acceptance of broken communication is still taking a lot out of me. What was once connecting us can and will be severely severed. I envisioned a future of madness and hoped it would set us free. The path of peace is one I have to take alone. My failure is one that had to occur for me to expand. A life of pessimistic tranquility cannot exist no matter how hard I pushed. I settled for a marriage where you no longer held my hand. There is a clever con you force yourself to believe. Where promises you want to hear are not the ones you make. The change I sought was the one I had to endure and claim. Blissful ignorance is a powerful tool for the corrupted insane. The finish line feels so unattainable and far away. Like this process will be rewarded when I know it won't. I allow my regression to keep pulling me back instead of forward. I can't give you this much control every time you return, so please don't. I am metamorphic and still ascending at a steady pace. You will change artificially but that is your burden to bear. I don't want to be reminded of past mistakes and wounded pride. My soul is transforming and you can't halt this evolution so don't you dare. I wish I could fast forward until I'm fully healed. But who knows when that will occur and what will transpire. I have my doubts and anxieties and perhaps I always will. But time altered its future for me so my bleakness isn't so dire. What happened to the potential I thought resided in me? If I was so stubborn, why did I give up on myself so quickly? I thought I was a masterpiece in disguise, in the making. How do I carve myself out of marble and still be more than what I want to be? The future keeps extending his warm and cuddly hand. I don't want a new companion to completely conquer me. I want a future where I can love myself and be loved in return. I'm not asking for a miracle, just for the future to be simple and happy for me. I want serenity and the peace that comes with an unclouded mind. If love will allow me, I will claim both along with his hand in mine

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetryMental Healthinspirationalheartbreak

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Anna TorresWritten by Anna Torres

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.