Poets logo

Breadcrumbs

I'm not holding out for a hero

By Anna TorresPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
Like
Breadcrumbs
Photo by Alexandra Marta on Unsplash

I'm living off of hope that someone will still save me. I follow the breadcrumbs as if they were specifically meant for me. If you want me, you know where to find me. I'm praying you will come to me as if it were your destiny. I'm that desperate to take anything you give. Self-sabotage breeds toxicity and it needs one more life to live. I'm not going to roll the dice and pin all my hopes on if. If you want me, you'll have to jump over this rift. This nagging feeling keeps telling me don't get your hopes up. Why do I never feel like I am good enough? You're still so vulnerable and looking for validation. You can't keep pretending you're not praying this time that he's the one. You're not perfect but I have my fingers crossed. I want you to reassure me and love me with all of my flaws. I want to mold myself into the shape of your desire. Why wouldn't I want to damage myself in the heat of this fire? Maybe I should have waited until I was fully healed. I didn't want to lose this opportunity and have my fate sealed. I'm scared of the future and I have so much riding on this experience and connection. I don't have the strength to keep trying in hopes I'll eventually forget and move on. I might never believe in myself and be the confident one. I'll always want you to choose me instead of another one. My salvation lies in your choice to love me and only me. I'm already planning on choosing you because that's the only way I'll be free. I can't fake passivity nor can I fake apathy. I can't be indifferent because my heart always takes that leap before me. Loving being in love is a curse I have given myself. Finding that forever is all I want above everything else. The false sense of perfection drives me up the wall. Wishing I was what you want is the goal above all. Acceptance of me and my insecurities will be a dream come true. I might never be able to do it so I only hope it's you. My anxiety feels like I want so little and so much. I can't risk rejection again because I still believe in love. Maybe that's what this path is: me learning to love and accept myself one day. I can only cross my fingers and hope I'll see smiling you back at me on that one fateful day

love poemssurreal poetrysad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.