Poets logo

Dear Readers and Supporters and Fellow Creators

I Haven’t Forgotten You

By Harmony KentPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
23
Dear Readers and Supporters and Fellow Creators
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Dear Readers and Supporters and Fellow Creators,

I haven’t forgotten you

It’s just been a bit of a to-do

You see, I fell off a cliff

And life went a tad skew-whiff

🤎🤎🤎

I haven’t forgotten you

🤎🤎🤎

To produce a fourth instalment was my aim

By November on ‘Living with Chronic Pain’

By December, I was way overdue

So, later still, (Ahem 🤭) I’m penning this in lieu

🤎🤎🤎

It’s just been a bit of a to-do

🤎🤎🤎

I’m still at the bottom amidst the rocks

My life filled with the joy of cold and sodden socks!

Flailing around and dodging piranha and killer sharks

My attempts to climb leave naught but bloodied skid marks

🤎🤎🤎

You see, I fell off a cliff

🤎🤎🤎

I want to write and share

And read your words and stare

At the wonders you create

Alas, often, I have too much piled on my plate

🤎🤎🤎

And life went a tad skew-whiff

🤎🤎🤎

Fibromyalgia they say, all tentative

No matter, I’ll give all I can give

‘Cos creating and reading are so much fun

And, still smiling, I’m a long way from done

🤎🤎🤎

I haven’t forgotten you

🤎🤎🤎

As you can see

I pop up periodically

To check on you all

And pen the odd bit until my next fall

🤎🤎🤎

Off a cliff

When life goes a bit skew-whiff

And it all becomes a bit of a to-do

But even when I’m gone, I haven’t forgotten you

🤎🤎🤎

I haven’t forgotten you

🤎🤎🤎

With warmest wishes, my much loved friends,

Harmony 💕🙂💕

~~~

🤎This piece is in response to Vocal’s Epistolary Challenge, which you can click on below, where creators are invited to write a poem in letter form. I hope you enjoyed this bit of poetic fun I had in writing to you all! If you did, I’d love your comments and hearts, which fill me full and never fail to elicit a smile. Thank you 😊 🤎

inspirationalsad poetrylove poems
23

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Lovely poem. Miss reading your works!

  • Robbie Cheadleabout a year ago

    A lovely poem, Harmony. Very poignant. Hugs.

  • Priscilla Bettisabout a year ago

    Harmony, you did well on both counts: poetry and expressing how you haven't forgotten everyone since your life has gone a bit askew. Loved it!

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    Beautifully expressed, Harmony. Life does get overwhelming at times, doesn't it?

  • Joan Hallabout a year ago

    You aren't forgotten, Harmony. I love the fact that despite your health issues, you keep smiling and have a positive attitude. Maybe you aren't publishing longer works these days, but you're knocking it out of the park here.

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    Tenderly expressed, beautifully crafted...I could never forget you, dear friend. Sending hugs and love...

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    I think you are doing well and I'm always cheering you on. Fibromyalgia is a tough roommate to live with. Hugs xo

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Well done, Harmony. Hoping you get answers and relief soon.

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    We haven't forgotten you either. Great poem. Wishing you the best on your healing journey.

  • Cheryl Oregliaabout a year ago

    Beautifully written Harmony! What a challenging time you have had while trying to keep so many balls in the air. Let them fall where they may. You take care of you. We'll send up prayers. Hugs, C

  • Yvette M Calleiroabout a year ago

    This was an amazing form of blending letter with poetry! Well done, Harmony! As you already know, I'm not going anywhere, and neither is your online family. Still sending healing energy your way! XOXO Yvette M Calleiro

  • Staci Troiloabout a year ago

    Life does have an annoying way of derailing our plans. Still, you're doing a lot of publishing here, and you always come up with a winner. I love this line: My life filled with the joy of cold and sodden socks! Hoping you get answers and relief soon.

  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    Hi. I'm here, glad to be your new reader. Blessings!

  • Amazing job Harmony! What a beautiful sharing of your pain and the simple aspects of life that become jeopardized. This is something anyone can relate to in various ways. This is something many take for granted. So beautifully written and we ALL benefit from you sharing this with us :)

  • abdullah al masumabout a year ago

    Thank you sharing your amazing poem..

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Harmony, this is such a terrible feeling to undertake and bare. You are doing fabulous and know that you are not alone in these feelings and thoughts! 💜 I appreciate your bravery to pen some of these and share them with the community of Vocal!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Aw, Harmony, as someone that has a wife who has ME and who I am now thinking I have a suspected ME (I'm waiting to get diagnosed by the doc), I know how much invisible illnesses like Fibro etc can affect your life. I'm sorry to hear you've been feeling so rough recently and this was a delightful way to show that you care! Your readers, as Ahna and Donna have said, will be waiting for when you're ready! Health before art! :)

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Ahh Harmony I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been feeling like this ❤️❤️❤️. Sending you good thoughts and really hoping to see more writing from you again soon!

  • Ahna Lewisabout a year ago

    I really enjoyed this poem, and I'm so glad to be one of your new readers! Take all the time you need. We'll still be here! 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.