Poets logo

Plagiarism is Not Okay!

Paraphrasing is Still Stealing

By Harmony KentPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
24

Poem plagiarised

Proud-you?

Pointless pilfering

Pale paraphrasing

Puffed-up pride

Produces pedestrian poppycock

Pin-points puerile personality

Poor performance pushes

Painful punch

Pounds patience

Pauses passion

Pessimism permeates

Prior peace

Pitiful, poisonous, pilfering

Prevents productivity

Prejudiced premise prevails

Purposeless pollution

People ponder

please

Pause plagiarism

~~~~~~~~~~

[Author’s Note: This poem was inspired after reading a recent entry in the Tautogram poetry competition. The words are mine, simply less of them and paraphrased, or so it seems to me. It feels like a punch to the gut, and I question whether it’s worth it to keep on creating when crap like this happens. I copy the text from the offending poem below, and after that, have embedded the link to my original poem, posted a day earlier than the one which appears to mimic it. What do you think? Original work or a bald copy?]

~~~~

The tiresome Tautogram,

These tasks too tantalizing,

Trying to triumph the test,

The tension, tremors, tiredness though,

Temptation thrills

Testing tautogram techniques

Thankfully transcended.

Ta-da! Transformation totally terrific.

UPDATE: (27/03/2023) … the creator quoted above is no longer showing on Vocal, so it looks as though Vocal took action, for which I am extremely grateful! Thanks to everyone for your valued support! Hugs 🤗💖

slam poetrysocial commentary
24

About the Creator

Harmony Kent

The multi-genre author who gets write into your head

I began writing at 40 after a life-changing injury. An avid reader & writer, I love to review & support my fellow authors.

Find Me:

Blog

Story Empire

Amazon Author Page

Twitter

Goodreads

Bookbub

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I am beginning to feel bad about quoting Julius Caesar now (at least I did not paraphrase him or take it out of context).

  • Jacquie Biggarabout a year ago

    So sorry this happened!

  • Staci Troiloabout a year ago

    I'm glad you finally got vindication.

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Yeah, a very poor imitation of your work.

  • Sarah Stuartabout a year ago

    Yours was great and hers was unreadably pathetic. I'm glad Vocal removed it beacause it upset you, Harmony, but nobody would bother with the rubbish when they could enjoy yours. Love, Sarah xx

  • Mae Clairabout a year ago

    I feel your ire, Harmony. Hopefully Vocal addresses this.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    You are on fire!!! 🔥🔥 Simply loved this one! You inspire me! 💜

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    Beat response I've ever seen, Harmony!

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    I'm forever amazed by what people do. Definitely looks like plagiarism to me.

  • Nice Job ❤️👍

  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Wow, that is eerily similar. Seems to me someone used your words.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I would certainly send Vocal an email and let them decide if lines were crossed. Definitely not cool. Put your "P" poem rocks. It should be a Top Story!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    🤔🤔🤔 yeah. Just going off what I see here- That’s…. suspicious. That is one I might actually report to vocal and let them take a look if I were you, and I’m always super hesitant to do that. I was just thinking about how hard it is to sort out plagiarism or AI work in a challenge like this though where everything sounds a little awkward and artificial (because of the tautogram requirements, I mean). I guess it could be that a T tautogram is more likely to actually be about Tautograms but… still. I’m sorry this happened, how frustrating! And the P one is great!!!❤️

  • Joan Hallabout a year ago

    Sure sounds like plagiarism to me, Harmony. Great job with this newest one as well. I hope the offender sees it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.