Poets logo

Dear Okra

I do not like Okra, let me tell you why.

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Dear Okra
Photo by Neha Deshmukh on Unsplash

Dear Okra,

I know you’re sustenance for all of us, but oh nah!

Every time I try to ingest you provoke a

Convulsion in the back of my throat consistently

My body rejected your presence persistently

They say whenever something is cooked it becomes better

But your texture simply becomes wetter

Like slime slithering in my mouth forever

Apologies, but I can’t continue that endeavour

Whenever you end up on my plate you’ve sealed your fate

In the bin you’ll end up, and there you’ll wait

Maybe after being recycled you’ll gain a new face

Maybe after that you’ll be replaced

By something useful and non-repellent like your old self

That hairy exterior forever creeps me

Topped only by the interior, with shivers it greets me

I wish you all the best in the future

Goodbye Okra, I’m sorry you might end up in the sewer

Sincerely, Me

---

Apparently this is now a poetry series... where we talk about food we hate. I was instruc...inspired by Donna Renee to write this, as i read her piece about hating Marshmellows (here), and she was in turn inspired by Paul Stewart. Let's see if we can keep this going!

A side note: while I don't like Okra (I wasn't lying about that), I do respect food, and I generally just avoid coming across Okra so that I don't have to throw it away. We shouldn't through away food if we can help it... this was just an artistic choice for the poem, that's all.

humornature poetry

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Jordan Sky Daniels11 months ago

    I've never had okra and won't be having it based on this poem

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Haha! So great, Mohammed! I share your hatred of okra! Perfectly hilarious piece!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Okra is supposed to help you poop, or help babies slide out easier for the expectant mom. Slime, or at least that is what they sat back down home in Jamaica. It grew on me as I got older, spiced right it can pass muster. Still slimy.

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Lol. This is great. Yeah, I'd throw it out too.

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Oh Mohammed this is funny! Straight to the sewer, Okra!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Couldn’t Agree more. Okra is the snot ball of the food world, fried or not.🤢 Loved your epistolary. I actually commented to Donna that my least favorite food is okra so we have similar tastes in not ever wanting to taste the dreaded stuff. Well done!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I’m glad to see you join in! Mine’s waiting to be approved because of foul language. I’ve only had fried okra, which I’m incredibly neutral about. I don’t hate it, but I don’t care if I never have it again. That being said, you did good with this because it made me think those hairs and general sliminess are rather gross.

  • You now have wayyyyyy more respect from me than you did before. For not wanting to waste food. Thank you so much for that! And I loved your poem!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Okra is meant to be fried, and nothing pairs better with some fried catfish. 😁 That said, this is a great take on the challenge.

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I think you would love fried okra better 🌞

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    This is brilliant! Love the letter format to this one and while I can't totally agree, you manage to capture perfectly why you hate it so much - to the bin with it! Well done, Mohammed!

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Ugh yes!! I forgot about the hairy exterior!! 🫣🫣😂. This was so funny!! Loved your point about food waste too!! Makes perfect sense to really try to avoid having something that you can’t tolerate included in your meal (okra, or marshmallows hahah) so you don’t end up wasting it!

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.