Poets logo

Dear Narcissist

Part I

By Poppy Published 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
23
Image Created on Midjourney

You weave your manipulations

Like chainmail

Under, over, under, over

Lie, sob story, fabrication, guilt trip

You can paint a pretty halo

Glowing and circling your head

As many times as you want

You'll never be able to disguise

Your knife as a paintbrush

(I'll always know)

You can dip my hands in blood

As many times as you need

It won't make my wounds disappear

And it certainly won't hide

The packet of salt in your steady hands

(I can still feel the pain, even as you hand me the blame)

I spent so long

Pretending not to see

Your subtle selfishness

That I almost forgot

About your ability

To map out a person’s

Soft spots and

Expertly embed

A quiver’s worth

Of arrows in them

(It's not so subtle when I start asking questions)

Potential victims come to you

Moths flitting adoringly to a flame

But I know how you burn

Scorching skin and

Snuffing out any

Other candles in sight

You have a way of

Twisting things so

Your flaws are

Tattooed across

Other people’s bodies

And your faults are

Yoked to somebody

Else’s shoulders

The only person

Who needs to listen

To your accusations

Is you

But you’ve always worn

Delusion like a second skin

Always had a gun loaded

And a lie in the barrel

Always had poison

On your fingertips

As you beckon me closer

(Urging me to pull the trigger

So I'm just as guilty as you)

We all make mistakes

But I acknowledge mine

While you bury yours

In a place where

Only I seem to

Find them

❀❀❀❀❀

The Rest of the Series:

(Doesn't need to be read in chronological order)

fact or fictionsad poetry
23

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    My goodness. You have a way with words.

  • This was incredible just simply amazing

  • Mattie :)8 months ago

    So good, Poppy! You're a terrific writer. Always enjoy reading your posts :)

  • Wow 😮 👌

  • Anyone who has ever been in such a relationship will strongly connect with these. You’ve done an excellent job of portraying it 🤍

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    The very first stanza had me hooked! The entire poem was an amazing trail of words that ended with a swift dose of reality. Well done!

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Oof, Poppy, this reads like a song! I couldn't help but imagine they were lyrics rather than a poem - so lyrical and organized like a call and response with the parentheses. I clicked on this from Part II because I knew in the first stanza that I needed the background on this!! So glad I did. Fabulous work.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Powerful punch and perfectly penned!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    OMG I felt every word of this! If it was a song, I’d play it on repeat and sing my heart out. Because this is an anthem for those who’ve suffered from narcissistic abuse. “You have a way of Twisting things so Your flaws are Tattooed across Other people’s bodies And your faults are Yoked to somebody Else’s shoulders“ YES! That’s exactly it! You are on fire with this. ❤️‍🔥

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I have one of these in my life. You’ve knocked this one outta the park! Swing batter batter swing! <clonk> Ball goes over the fence in centerfield- the crowd goes wild!

  • Great job - The only person Who needs to listen To your accusations Is you But you’ve always worn Delusion like a second skin😉📝💥

  • ROCK 9 months ago

    I have personal experience with a family member who is a narcissistic sociopath. It took years to heal. This really kicked me in the heart. Feeling anything when reading whether good, bad, angry, joyfulness or sadness is a compliment to a writer/ artist in my opinion. Well conveyed.

  • As Galinda says in one of my favorite songs from "Wicked" ("For Good"), "But then I guess we know there's blame to share, & none of it seems to matter anymore." Unless the other person admits to no culpability, & then it matters a lot. When everything gets dumped on us & there is nothing to be said or done but bear it (narcissists tend to be experts at manipulating arguments so that any defense proffered becomes proof of their accusations), that's a heavy load to carry. And all I've ever been able to figure out to do is not retaliate & give others the time & space to figure it out for themselves. You write as though from first hand experience, Poppy, & if that is the case my heart goes out to you.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Wow, Poppy. This was so visceral, so raw and full of so much truth. There are so many just stunning lines I'd end up copying most of it here, but I do love the opening stanza, and then from there on in, you slayed, just slayed! - "You'll never be able to disguise Your knife as a paintbrush" is so striking, along with the line about "packet of salt", and that ending is perfect. Just, yeah, wow!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.