Poets logo

Your Wish is My Wish

Another Sad Poem

By Poppy Published 10 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
8
Image Created on Midjourney

It makes sense really

You always ran from

Your problems

Turning your back on them

And using distance as

Your weapon

Hoping they’d disappear

If you could no longer

See them

I always faced my monsters

Looked them in the eye

Held a sword in my hand

I didn’t always win but

I always tried

Now I’m facing you

Tears blurring your silhouette

Empty handed but ready

To dredge out the answers

To the questions that

Tear the skin from my bones

I know I won’t succeed but

Falling to my knees

I’m willing to beg if it

Will get me closure

(It makes sense really)

You run from the disaster

That is me

Turning your back in

The exact way you swore

You never would

Turning away like I

Should’ve known

Would happen one day

I never knew what a

Deadly weapon

Distance could be

Until now, when it is

Suffocating me

I know you are hoping

I’ll disappear now that

You can no longer see me

And finally, after trying and trying

I can’t help but wish the same

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this please check out more of my poems:

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨9 months ago

    Tears by the end. Powerful ❤️

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Beautifully written

  • "And finally, after trying and trying I can’t help but wish the same" If wishes were fishes & fishes were trees.... How often do we wish/pray it, yet it continues to go unanswered?

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    So poignant, two flawed lovers. You’ve got layers of emotions laced throughout. I love it all, especially I always faced my monsters Looked them in the eye Held a sword in my hand I didn’t always win but I always tried - Great work, Poppy.

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    That line 'I never understood what deadly weapon distance could be. " just extraordinary ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.