Poets logo

Conversations with myself.

Hurt.

By Kerri MiLLsPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Conversations with myself.
Photo by Preslava Glushkova on Unsplash

I AM Yellow.

I WAS yellow.

Runaway little girl, run away.

You yellow-bellied freak!

"I hurt myself today, to see if I still feel. I focus on the pain, the only thing that's real. The needle tears a hole, the old familiar sting. Try to kill it all away, but I remember everything..."

The mind can be a beautiful thing. It can also destroy us...

She was yellow, like the sun that shines bright above us all, she shined. She grew, like a blade of grass on a hot summer's day, she grew. She was yellow, but that didn't stop her, for that was only one part of her. She let her yellow shine, for she was so much more than yellow, she was golden, like Midas everything she touched turned to gold. She was orange, red, and yellow, she was the sunset that burned the night sky. She was the ocean, the waves, the sand, brown and grey, blue and black, she grew. She was the rainbow that appeared after a rainy day. Here today, gone tomorrow, she was the shooting star that twinkled down the sky and into the dirt, never to be seen again, only to be wished upon. She was yellow.

"I wear this crown of thorns, upon my liar's chair, full of broken thoughts, I cannot repair. Beneath the stains of time, the feelings disappear, you are someone else. I am still right here."

She's the rain that falls from the heavenly skies, she's your umbrella on a rainy day. She is red, she is yellow, pink, orange and green. She is the mountains, the leaves, the crisp air on a cold, fall day. She is blue. She is the blue in the sky, the blue in my soul, the blue in your soul, we're blue. I'm blue with you, without you, we're green.

"What have I become? My sweetest friend. Everyone I know goes away in the end. And you could have it all. My empire of dirt. I will let you down. I will make you hurt."

She's green. Like the grass that grows from the sun, the rain, together, the winds, we're green. She is red, she burns, like the touch of your finger on my lip, I'm red, I burn for you. The flames of my heart are red, yellow, gold, and blue I burn for you.

I burn for you.

"If I could start again, a million miles away, I would keep myself. I would find a way."

I am yellow.

(Johnny Cash- Hurt)

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Kerri MiLLs

*Love thyself*

#CapeBretonrProud

“Ooo baby, baby it’s a wild world” ❤️😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.