Poets logo

Chrysalism.

For Paul’s Most Favourite (and Least Favourite) Words Poetry Challenge

By Poppy Published 5 months ago 1 min read
23
Chrysalism.
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

Chrysalism: the tranquility and peace that you feel when you're indoors during a thunderstorm.

❀❀❀❀❀

Warmth. Tap dancing across my skin. Slippery sliding through my veins. Warmth - more emotion than temperature.

Safety. Hanging in the air like smoke. Filling my lungs like oxygen. Safety - the unforgettable, perpetually craved kind.

Rain. Falling like stars, catching wishes. Rain - a mirror to the droplets of joy pooling in my eyes, running down to the upturn of my lips.

Chrysalism. How it feels to be loved by you.

❀❀❀❀❀

To Paul,

Here is my failed attempt at your challenge. I’m sorry but I could absolutely not under any circumstances include ‘sleazy’ in a poem. It would’ve haunted me forever and I would have had to inevitably delete it very soon after posting. So I hope you can accept a poem purely about my favourite word instead.😂

Apologies,

Miss Thepoet

Here is Paul’s Challenge:

p.s. If anyone thought this was the start of some happy poems, it’s not. I based it off characters from a novel I’m writing :)

nature poetrylove poems
23

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 5 months ago

    My least favorite word is - vibes.

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Beautiful! I felt every word of this piece in my bones. Thank you for that wonderful moment of Chrysalism! I think it just made its way to my top fave words as well! Although I can completely understand not wanting to write about the word sleazy, I bet you would have somehow made it magical!

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    There’s so much to love about this poem Poppy ❤️ I particularly loved ‘Safety. Hanging in the air like smoke. Filling my lungs like oxygen’ —it can definitely feel like that, when you have it 🥰

  • Great job, getting an Honourable Mention... was that because your most hated word didn't feature in this masterpiece?

  • Amelia Moore5 months ago

    it's a great mood to capture: the warmth of a thunderstorm. you do it really well, and i think the idea you went for is intriguing. i wanna read more. also, congrats on your book!

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Lol, it's the thought that counts! And I agree, Sleazy is a terrible word, both in meaning and in the sound of it. Loved your poem!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    This felt like being snugged up in a blanket with my hands around a steaming mug, watching raindrops.

  • Davina Zinn McKee5 months ago

    Beautiful word, and wow… your poetic execution of how the word is defined is something special. I am not a fan of sad poetry, so I’m delighted you decided to branch out… even if it’s not something we as your readers can expect again

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Wonderfully written!!! Loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lovely, peaceful feel to this... however, SLEAZY did not deserve such cruel treatment and I hope Paul holds fast to THEM RULES!! They weren't made to be broken. Half tempted to write my longest poem ever (at least 2 lines) including the omitted word!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    lol...there is so much I love about this entire post. You're really pushy how much I respect you and respect the rules of poetry and process and whatnot. (I am the most rubbish at sticking to rules lol.) See...the thing is...I was a little cross...then felt sad about you getting so damaged by using sleazy in a poem and having to delete it...so I was not sure where I was going then you signed it all off perfectly. To be honest, though, let's talk about what you did submit (Adjusts self so he feels like a proper critic) That little poem was really stunning. I looooooved the repetition. One of my favourite techniques. And just the feelings it made me feel. Well done. Also, that was funny at the end about "p.s. If anyone thought this was the start of some happy poems, it’s not. I based it off characters from a novel I’m writing :)" LOL.. I'll accept it...if noone else complains about me accepting it.

  • Not me thinking chrysalism was crystalised chrysanthemums. I have no idea why my brain works that way 🤣🤣🤣 Your poem was so beautiful and I learnt a new word!

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    The image of joyful tears "running down the upturn of my lips" is so splendid. Makes me taste the salt, feel the welling of love, and feel a warmth like fire-wind. Just, beautiful piece. I hope Paul includes it. Will he adhere strictly to his own rules? We shall see, lol. Also, Randy's comment made me giggle. 😂

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    That was lovely and thanks for teaching me a new word.

  • Did you really just sleaze out of using your least favorite word in a poem, lol?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.