Poets logo

Our Fractured Fairytale

(the pages you burnt)

By Poppy Published 6 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
33
Our Fractured Fairytale
Photo by Oliver Paaske on Unsplash

I thought we were a story with a fairytale ending; a happily-ever-after. But you were a ‘close the book and burn it if you don’t like the chapter’ kind of person.

Here is the tragic truth of it (of the pages you turned to ashes).

You were all claws and sharp teeth and sharper tones. And I never would have given up on you.

I was all covered up, hiding my wounds, until a moment of vulnerability had me revealing the places you had drawn blood. And you gave up on me.

Life is a lake and your cruel goodbye is the rocks in my pockets.

I think I killed myself, trying to keep you alive.

I think you are haunting my grave, dangling your happiness on a string of laughter above where my body rots.

You were so many things. Now you are the last puncture in my lungs. The ultimate knife wound on my back. The final nail in my coffin.

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this you might also like:

sad poetryheartbreakfact or fiction
33

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Your words here are so moving and so relatable, I really loved it

  • Kathy J Anderson5 months ago

    Ouch, sometimes love hurts us instead of accepting us as we are and people can never be trusted, in the end, its all a bust. You really stirred that love pot up with the hopelessness, but love conquers all when its good.

  • Andie Emerson5 months ago

    You stirred some emotions with these lines! Congrats on the TS!!

  • Test5 months ago

    "I was all covered up, hiding my wounds, until a moment of vulnerability had me revealing the places you had drawn blood. And you gave up on me." Feel this so much! Beautifully written as always but so sad 🤍

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Oh, this feels so devoid of hope.

  • Another Top Story! I agree with Novel Allen... not the final nail!

  • noor5 months ago

    well done buddy!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Poppy with was so well articulated and such a relatable feeling for me! Great work and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Brenton F5 months ago

    A warm dark, no edge; damn fine writing Poppy!

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Not the final nail. The final one is up to you, break out before the last one is totally battened down, prayers, hugs and blessings for a great awakening from the fog of obscurity.

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Like the trickster wolf character in a fairy tale, multiple faces, drawing sympathies and care from his victims, then mocking their graves. An insatiable beast. What a vivid image. Damnnn. Congrats on TS! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Yay! Congrats on the TS.

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Damn this was dark and some bits were too relatable. You painted the picture so well. Hugs to you whether this is personal or not. Congrats on Top Story :)

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    oh yaya, there we go. Congrats, Ms Thepoet on a fine Top Story!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Wow! Very dramatic and visually!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!1💕❤️❤️

  • Rowan Finley 6 months ago

    Poppy, out of curiosity, have you taken the MBTI personality test? If yes, do you remember your four lettered type? I have some theories on certain personality types and their susceptibility to narcissistic abuse from others.

  • So dark and sad... I hope this is not about you. Well done. Excellent writing.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Oh damn, Ms Thepoet...this burns...all the feelings. Seriously though...I loved the flow of this...the lengthier lines gave you room to do your wonderful trick with words. You really captured and expressed so much emootion in this. This is the kind of writing I aspire to write.

  • Yep, he was that kinda person. He closed the book and burned it because he didn't like the chapter and I killed myself too trying to keep him alive. As always, loved your poem so much!

  • Enjoy this? No. Feel it. Resoundingly yes! Please tell me it's not autobiographical (though my failing memory tells me it is).

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Oh my. That is powerful. So many incredible lines. I took a sharp inhale at "I think I killed myself, trying to keep you alive." Just wow!

  • Sara 6 months ago

    Such a tragic story of love and heartbreak - It really resonated with me. Beautifully said 🫶

  • Tragically sad… trusting other friends take the time to read the precious ‘book’ of your life. You’re extremely creative & caring, but unfortunately not everyone appreciates it. Don’t give up.🌺🌻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.