Poets logo

Chiffon Binds

and other pretty delusions

By CierraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Manon Lescault 1 by Rafal Olbinski

Daydreams haunt me like well-intentioned phantoms,

Imprisoning my common sense with pleasantly numbing distractions.

Silk chiffon is tied gently over the mouth of my logic,

Tenderly quieting it. The Daydreams whisper lightly in my ear,

“Reality will never live up to these beautiful delusions, My Dear.”

Already I am enchanted, with my logic sweetly choked.

Chiffon constraints multiply and beautifully restrain me as the Daydreams make short work of sedating me with all the pretty little lies.

The lies swirl and spiral in a complicated dance across my eyes, fully blinding me to whatever truths reality might provide.

In my chiffon, I am outfitted for a ball. Is it a masquerade? The Daydreams innocently pull me deeper into this carefully crafted dance with my arms

Outstretched, I search for someone to join me in my fantastical dance with Daydreams.

Not even my fanciful chiffon encasement seems to lure anyone into dancing with us for long, though.

surreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Cierra

To quote Susan Sontag, "How can I describe my life to you? I think a lot, listen to music, I'm fond of flowers." I would add I love reading and writing as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.