Poets logo

Insatiable

An appetite of fire.

By Obsidian WordsPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Insatiable
Photo by Tobias Rademacher on Unsplash

I understand fire, it’s hungry,

Starving with unchecked violence—insatiable.

In proximity to fuel it

Ravishes.

Undeterred by decorum,

Indelicate in its consumption.

I bite my tongue against the

Heaviest of truths

And bury you all in the ashes

Of the ones I've burned like tinder.

To fire, a spark is freedom.

To me, it is just another moment,

Indiscernible from the next

In this world I've set alight.

I understand fire,

But unlike it, I am not limited

By the conditions in which I

Burn.

nature poetryslam poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ian Read3 days ago

    As a pyromaniac with a great deal of self-discipline, I loved this poem.

Obsidian WordsWritten by Obsidian Words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.