Poets logo

Central Park

Calming Effects

By Anthony ChanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Special Thanks to Hector Arguello Canals on Unsplash.com

I love my walks across NYC's Central Park.

A place of wonder and delight

A park that ignites all five senses

Sight, smell, sound, taste, and touch.

As I walk, I see children playing.

They are running and laughing.

Their innocence shines bright.

A sight that fills my heart with joy.

I see squirrels running around.

With their bushy tails and playful antics.

They hop from tree to tree.

A sight that makes me smile.

Dogs walk with their owners on leashes.

They are barking, sniffing, and wagging their tails.

Their excitement is palpable in the air.

A sight that reminds me of loyalty and friendship.

The scent of hot dogs from vendors outside the park.

It fills my nostrils as I walk along.

The aroma of different foods from the restaurants inside the park

It tickles my senses and makes my mouth water.

I taste the food I am eating while walking through the park.

The flavors are swirling through my mouth.

A perfect complement to the beautiful surroundings

A taste that satisfies my hunger and soul.

I touch the trees as I walk along.

Their rough bark and sturdy trunks

A touch that connects me to nature

A reminder of the beauty of the earth.

The sound of birds chirping in the trees

Fills the air with their sweet melody.

Children are playing, shouting, and laughing.

Echoes of joy and freedom in the park.

The sound of sirens and ambulances outside the park.

Entering my ears, a reminder of the world beyond.

It confirms that life is not always perfect.

But the park provides a respite from the chaos.

All five senses come alive in Central Park.

Sight, smell, sound, taste, and touch.

A sensory experience that fills me with happiness.

A place where I can escape and find peace.

nature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • DimitriosT6 months ago

    Nature is the supreme healer of bodies and souls. New York needs 10 central parks! Peace!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.