Poets logo

Paradise

Never Can Get Enough of Your Sunshine

By Anthony ChanPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Special Thanks to Alisa Matthews on Unsplash.com

Aloha Honolulu

I hope this letter finds you well. I enjoyed my last visit to your tropical paradise including your great eating establishments.

First on my list was Maguro Brothers for some fantastic Poke. The fish there is incredibly fresh, and the flavors are so delicious. The friendly staff will even guide you through their selection of Poke and recommend the best ones to try. I've tried several great Poke places on the island, like Fishhook, but “Maguro Brothers” was my favorite.

Next up was Hula Girl for breakfast. This place is a little gem tucked away in Waikiki but worth seeking out. The outside seating provides a great beach view. While enjoying a great breakfast, you can watch the waves of the beach.

The breakfast menu contains tasty options. From the classic eggs and bacon to the more exotic loco moco, the food here never disappoints. Still, I must admit that my favorite menu items are the seafood omelet and the Lobster roll. The staff is friendly and welcoming, making it a great way to start your day.

If you're a pancake lover like me, one must check out Eggs and Things across from the park. These are hands down the best pancakes I've ever had. They're light and fluffy, with just the right amount of sweetness. The breakfast menu here is extensive, with options ranging from omelets to French toast, but the pancakes are the show's star.

A tremendous local dish is eggs with corn beef hash. It brings back childhood memories, but the local touch added to this entrée is hard to beat. Be prepared to wait in line, though - this place is super popular.

But if you don’t like to wait, you can use some of your wait time to cross the street and check out the park, which has many hens and roosters as residents. Watching them run around the park always makes my day!

Special Thanks to Walter Martin on Unsplash.com

Finally, for some fantastic Asian fusion cuisine, you must try Morimoto. Chef Morimoto of Iron Chef fame runs this restaurant, so you know the food will be excellent. The menu here is full of creative dishes that blend Japanese and Western flavors, and everything I've tried has been fantastic. After you finish your meal, don’t forget to try their homemade donuts, which they will prepare for you. They are not pre-cooked; they make them fresh for each person that orders them! The restaurant is also beautiful, with a sleek and modern design for a memorable dining experience.

Of course, no one makes a better Mai Tai better than those prepared on the island. Enjoying them at a place like Buzz’s original steak house as the sun goes down is a second-to-none experience.

The journey here was quite long and tiring. The flight from the East Coast is not for the faint of heart. But once I arrived, all the stress and exhaustion melted away. The warm sun and refreshing ocean breeze were just what I needed to rejuvenate myself. Plus, as one approaches the island, the stunning views from the plane are always memorable.

All in all, my time in Honolulu is always an absolute dream come true. I feel so grateful each time I can experience such a beautiful place and to have met such wonderful people. When I return home, I always take many of your island's ambiance and aloha spirits with me.

I hope you realize how special you are and know that you always make my life more fulfilling each time you allow me to spend time with you. Every minute I spend with you is a moment in paradise. And every visit is another opportunity to reinforce my love for you.

Mahalo Nui Loa

Satisfied Guest

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Anthony Chan

Chan Economics LLC, Public Speaker

Chief Global Economist & Public Speaker JPM Chase ('94-'19).

Senior Economist Barclays ('91-'94)

Economist, NY Federal Reserve ('89-'91)

Econ. Prof. (Univ. of Dayton, '86-'89)

Ph.D. Economics

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.